HISTORY OF HICKORY, POLK, CEDAR, DADE AND BARTON COUNTIES, MISSOURI 1889, published by Goodspeed
Cedar County, Missouri Section
SETTLEMENT AND EARLY AFFAIRS.
The territory embraced within the limits of what is now Cedar County was first settled in the year 1832. The pioneers were Robert Graham, Thomas English, John Crisp and a Mr. Crump, who located near the once site of Dunnegan & Montgomery's mill, on the Sac River, two miles east of Stockton, coming at the same time, and arriving November 17 of the year mentioned. A large, hollow sycamore tree at first furnished shelter for a part of the little band of adventurers. At this time the red man roamed over the country with much of his native freedom, and the wild animals indigenous to this latitude were plentiful here.
Early Experiences—Pioneer experiences are always interesting. The earliest habitations of the pioneers in Cedar were of the most primitive description, hastily built of logs, and illy [sic] provide with the conveniences of life. The roofs of some of
them were of bark, and others were roofed with bark and skins. Few had windows, and in their walls window-holes even were not too numerous. No glass was obtainable for some time after settlement began. At first blankets served as doors, suspended, curtain-like, over apertures left for ingress and egress. There were no stoves for some years, and at first even the rudest fireplaces were not often to be seen. Many of the cabins were without floors, and such as prevailed were rough-hewn “puncheon” floors. The furniture in use was of the simplest kind. In one house which has been described, bedsteads and tables were provided by driving stakes in the ground and resting hewn planks upon poles extending from the tops of the stakes to auger-holes in the logs of the walls; chairs were merely blocks of wood or the most easily constructed stools, and the fireplace was simply a spot on the ground underneath a hole in the roof through which the smoke escaped.
Robert Graham went nearly sixty miles to mill, and about once a year to Springfield to do his trading. That was the nearest trading point, and he was often given errands to do for his neighbors and for people living along the way.
John Williams built the first mill on Cedar Creek, in Washington Township. It was not until settlement had advanced considerably that Crow’s and Bell’s mills were erected. The Dunnegan & Montgomery mill is well remembered, and Caplinger’s mill has been known for years. The first merchants in the county were Tilton & Sanders, at Stockton. The first election held in Cedar County, under the county organization, was in 1845, and the voting in the different municipal townships then in existence was at the following designated places: In Madison, at the house of Richard Tatum; in Jefferson, at Bell’s mills; in Linn, at the house of Jackson Cook; in Benton, at the house of Henry Earl; and in Cedar, at the house of Anderson Morton. Following are the names of the judges of election in their respective townships: Madison, James Jackson, Richard Tatum, Thomas English; Jefferson, Jacob Dixon, James Simrell, William Brasher; Linn, John Ruth, R.S. McKinney, John Satterfield; Benton, Henry Earl, Charles L. Clark, Joseph B. Carrico; Cedar, Josiah Edwards, Anderson Morton, Burgess Hurt. The first justices of the
peace appointed for the several townships were: Madison, Abraham Lovell, Absalom Baker, Richard Tatum, Jefferson, James Simrell, John B. Ingram, James M. Frazier, George R. Cowan; Linn, Robert Hoggin, John Ruth, Thomas Ross, William Powell; Cedar, James Smith, David Copeland; Benton, Charles L. Clark, David W. Martindale, Elisha Smith. The first overseers of road districts were: Thomas Gordon, William Perkins, James Jackson and Robert Walker.
Roads and Improvements.—Among the first necessities of the early residents of the county after improvements had been made in different localities, were roads to connect them and afford communication with the county seat and the outside world. In May, 1846, Nathan Shirley, Josiah V. Edwards and John B. Gordon were appointed to view and mark out a county road leading from the county town to the county line at Parkard’s Ford on Clear Creek, and Andrew McWilliams, John Edsall and Nathan Parker, Jr., to survey for a proposed change in the State road from Clinton, Mo., to Fayetteville, Ark., the substitute portion to leave the old road near William Pankey’s and intersect it again near Andrew Stewart’s. May 19 a committee appointed to survey a State road from Bolivar to Fort Scott, through Cedar County, made a report to the county court with was approved. Jacob Rae, Washington Crabtree and Henry Davis were appointed to lay out a road from the county seat to the St. Clair County line, in the direction of Osceola, to cross the Sac River at Caplinger’s mills, and, June 16, James Frazier, Joseph B. Ingram, John Simmons and James Miller were appointed to survey a road from the county town to the Polk County line to intersect a road through Polk County in the direction of Hermitage. August 17, James S. Conner, Ira D. Bryles and Alexander W. Johnson were appointed to lay out “a county road from Stockton to the Dade County line, to intersect a road leading from Greenfield to Bell’s mill between Ross’ mills and the big Sac River and Joseph English’s place.” On the same day, a remonstrance having been presented to the county court “against a review of a road form Stockton via Blakey’s mills, in the direction of Hermitage,” William Davis, George R. Cowan and Robert C. Walker were appointed commissioners to lay out said road anew. June
21, 1847, James M. Blakey was authorized to keep a ferry on Big Sac River, on the county road leading from Stockton, by way of Blakey’s mill to the Polk County line.
Wild Animals, Fowl, and Fish.—In its pioneer period, Cedar County was infested with all kinds of wild animals and fowls common to its latitude. Such buffalo as were not destroyed by early hunters fled to the westward and soon disappeared. Wolves, panthers and wild-cats are almost extinct. Deer long remained in considerable numbers, and bear are seen occasionally to this day. Smaller game and wild turkeys and ducks are abundant. Fish are plentiful and of good size.
Indians.—Cedar County has no exciting Indian history. Roving bands of Indians at times traded with the settlers, maintaining friendly relations with them and seldom threatening them or molesting their property. They have never returned in any considerable numbers since about 1840.
First Birth, Death and Marriage.—The first birth in Cedar County of a white child was that of Susan Jane Graham, October 13, 1833. She was a daughter of Robert and Ann Graham, and married George W. Sallee, and died in 1888. The first marriage occurred in 1833, the contracting parties being John Crisp and Melinda, daughter of Thomas English. The first burial was that of James Hopper, who was interred six miles southwest of Stockton in a black walnut log dug out like a trough. The services were conducted by Rev. J. J. Johnson (Baptist), and were attended by not more than fifteen people, among whom were Thomas Graham and his mother.
The First Preacher and Physicians in the county were Rev. J. J. Johnson and Drs. Samuel W. Horn and William Gordon. The pioneer dominie was a good man, universally liked, and called “Uncle Jimmie.” Dr. Page 357 is dead. Dr. Horn is living at Stockton at an advanced age.
To give a more extended list of original settlers and land claimants, the following has been compiled from the records, showing by whom and in what years all lands to this time taken
up in Cedar County were entered at the Government Land Office:
Township 33, Range 25.C Section I, George W. Davis, 1850; Eben E. White, 1853; William R. Sage, 1849; Alfred Underwood, James Hopkins, 1854; John Akins, 1853; William R. Winters, 1855; John Anderson, 1857; Jacob Sherrill, 1856; D. R. Turner. Section 2, Ambrose R. H. Ranson, 1857; Benjamin Strain, Pallas Neely, Samuel T. White, 1854; William Tindle, 1855; Paul H. Strange, Alfred T. Underwood, William Fleener, 1858. Section 3, William Fleener, 1857; William D. Beasley, Cornelius Taylor, John W. Bugg, Willis Hartley, William L. Harville, 1856; James Hartley, Sr., 1845; Samuel Bugg, 1842; Willis Hartley, 1853. Section 4, Willis Hartley, 1853, 1856; John Lindley, 1845; Samuel Bugg, 1842; Joseph J. Gravely, Josiah Jackson, 1856. Section 5, John Lindsey, 1856; Samuel W. Emerson, 1858; Dorothy Ball, 1853; Thomas Wright, Ambrose R. H. Ransom, Joseph Wright, John Gothard, 1857. Section 6, Michael Engleman, 1857; John Gothard, John T. Ball, Alexander Loveall, 1856; John Rowden, 1857; William Cundell, 1853. Section 7, Edmund Burchell, 1854; Isaac Hedge, 1856; Garrott Philpott, Ephraim Ludley, 1870. Section 8, Ambrose R. H. Ransom, Garrott Philpott, Josiah Jackson, 1857. Section 9, James Hartley, Jr., 1845; James Hartley, 1854; Richard Hartley, 1856; Ambrose R. H. Ransom, 1857. Section 10, William Irwin, 1845; Richard Tatum, 1847; James Hartley, Jr., 1848; Solomon Hartley, 1853; J. R. Hartley, 1856; Merritt Harville, 1857; Asa Delozier, 1854. Section 11, Martin F. Mulkey, 1846; Francis Emerson, 1856; Ambrose R. H. Ransom, William Tindle, James W. Mitchell, Solomon Hartley, 1857; George Fleemen, 1858. Section 12, John Akins, 1853; James W. Mitchell, James Akins, 1856; Ambrose R. H. Ransom, Mary Hopkins, 1857; Morris R. Mitchell, Henry Emerson, 1858. Section 13, Adam C. Mitchell, 1845; Ransom Cates, 1848; William Davis, 1853; James Mackey, Morris R. Mitchell, 1857; Henry Emerson, 1858. Section 14, Hezekiah Fleeman, Thomas S. Gillian, 1853; George Fleeman, 1855; Elias A. White, Elijah Cothan, 1857. Section 15, Joseph A. Wright, William Irwin, 1845; E. Cothan, Richard Hartley, 1856; Elias A. White, Samuel
H. Perkins, 1857; Joseph M. Barker, 1866; James A. McIntosh, 1875. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, State of Missouri, 1854; William Henslee, Ambrose R. H. Ransom, 1857. Section 18, William N. Gee, Amos Williams, 1845; William Henslee, 1855; Thomas Dale, 1858. Section 19, Thomas Dale, 1856; William R. Allen, William H. Harvey, Hamilton Allen, 1857; Alexander Bender, 1860; State of Missouri. Section 20, Meredith O. Hailey, 1848; Harris Geer, 1849; State of Missouri, 1854; James N. Henslee, 1856; John H. Brasher, 1857; R. A. Clapston, Thomas Brasher, 1859. Section 21, James R. Lindley, 1853; Sarah A. R. Hailey, 1852; Marshall G. Stevens, 1855; John Lindley, Philip Hailey, William R. Allen, Jane Eliza Flagler, Sarah M. Malone, 1857. Section 22, John Lindley, 1845; Samuel H. Perkins, 1856; State of Missouri. Section 23, Constant H. Perkins, Amos Harnby, 1851; Jethro Strend, 1855; James R. Cheek, 1856; Joseph E. Ball, Hasten Perkins, Constant H. Perkins, 1857; Wiley B. Mitchell, Hezekiah Fleeman, Richard Hartley, 1858. Section 24, Lewis H. Cheek, 1854; David Alexander, 1852; Wiley B. Mitchell, 1856; William O. King, 1857; Joseph B. Stockton, 1858.
Township 33, Range 26.— Section 1, Garrott Philpott, 1841; William Parkerson, 1855; George W. O’Bryant, 1856; Michael Engleman, Nathan Broyles, 1857. Section 2, Elias O’Bryant, 1840; Felix Cox, George W. O’Bryant, Nathan Broyles, 1856; State of Missouri, 1857, Joseph W. Bryant, 1858. Section 3, James Gordon, 1840; John Thomas, 1843; Thomas H. Gordon, 1846; Nathan F. Cheavis, 1840; State of Missouri, 1854; Quinn M. Hill, 1855; Neaty W. Gordon, Ewell R. Johnson, 1857. Section 4, Thomas Ross, 1840; Quinn M. Hill, 1854; Archibald M. Rutledge, 1857; Sheldon Cozby, Ambrose R. H. Ransom, 1860. Section 5, Austin Fox, Alexander Galbraith, 1856; Sheldon F. Cozby, Quinn M. Hill, 1857; Gideon Petty, 1858; Ambrose R. H. Ransom, 1860. Section 6, William H. Vann, 1848; Quinn M. Hill, 1855; Gideon Petty, 1856; Simeon Raymore, 1857. Section 7, James E. Carrick, 1840; James Epperson, 1855; Joseph Hill, 1856; John Crisp, Lilie Diveley, Jesse H. Lence, 1857. Section 8, James Epperson, 1855; Quinn M. Hill, 1856; John Pollard, John Crisp, Jacob Neff, 1857; Joseph Hill, 1858; Section 9,
Thomas Ross, 1840; John Pollard, Nancy Coulter, 1856; High F. Ross, 1858; Ambrose R. H. Ransom, 1860; Caroline Ross, 1861. Section 10, Thomas R. Brooks, Thomas Ross, 1840; John E. Ross, John W. Montgomery, 1857; Milby Chance, 1858; Thomas English, 1859; F. L. Gault. Section 11, Elias O’Bryant, 1842; George W. O’Bryant, 1854; Thomas Pyle, Felix Cox, 1856; Rolin Hudson, 1857; Milby Chance, 1858. Section 12, Elias O’Bryant, William Brown, 1840; James A. Haley, 1849; Jeremiah M. Smith, 1854; Thomas Pyle, 1855; George P. Dorris, 1871. Section 13, Thomas English, 1840; James C. Winton, 1854; William Montgomery, 1856; William N. Gee, 1857; William H. Stewart, 1858. Section 14, Thomas English, 1840; Thomas R. Brooks, 1841; Samuel N. Headlee, 1853; John W. Montgomery, 1854; Edmund H. Clark, 1857; John E. Ross, 1863. Section 15, Thomas English, Joseph Allen, 1840; Samuel N. Headlee, 1853; State of Missouri, John W. Montgomery, 1854; Samuel L. White, 1853; Thomas J. Stubblefield, 1856. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, Isaac Phipps, Samuel D. Hastin, 1856; Matthew Scott, 1855; Alfred Hocker, 1857; Joseph Hill, 1858; Oliver Mitchell, 1865; Jamison Vice, 1878. Section 18, James S. Carrick, 1840; James Dale, 1842; J. F. Johnson, Hezekiah McPherson, 1856; John D. Harris, Alfred Hocker, 1857. Section 19, James Dale, 1851; John Connor, 1854; Alfred Hocker, 1856; James T. Johnson, Edwin Pyle, 1857; James H. Peck, 1858. Section 20, Jesse H. Lence, Warren Thompson, Frederick Osterlock, 1857; William B. Griffis, 1858; John D. Hanson, 1859; F. J. Stubblefield, A. A. McElhany, T. M. Johnson, F. L. Garrett, 1868; William H. Butler, 1877. Section 21, Jacob L. Loveall, 1853; Simon B. Loveall, 1854; Samuel D. Hastin, 1856; Warren Thompson, Edwmund H. Clark, Frederick Osterlock, 1857. Section 22, John Leflers, 1840; Samuel N. Headlee, 1853; State of Missouri, 1854; Jonathan Loveall, William Montgomery, John Crisp, 1856; Simon B. Loveall, 1857. Section 23, Thomas English, 1839; Samuel N. Headlee, 1855; John W. Montgomery, Stephen A. Mitchell, Joseph Stanley, David Forest, 1856; Frederick Nixon, 1857; William Montgomery, William H. Stover, 1858. Section 24, Thomas English, 1839; Edwin Pyle, 1840;
Isaac Givins, 1853; Joshua Pyle, John West, Stephen A. Mitchell, 1856.
Township 33, Range27.—Section 1, Joseph N. Derrick, 1848; Frederick Discomb, 1853; Samuel D. Hasten, William M. Ross, 1856. Section 2, David Hunter, 1839; Zephaniah Lacy, 1851; Frederick Discomb, Charles L. Discomb, 1853; Henry L. Hunter, 1854; Hiram H. Lacy, 1856. Section 3, Eli Lindley, 1839; Nancy Baxter, 1840; John Routh, 1853; Zephaniah Lacy, 1854. Section 4, Zephaniah Lacy, Nancy Baxter, 1840; Joseph Allen, 1853; Edward H. Travis, 1854; William G. Buck, 1856; Martin M. Templeton, Robert F. Templeton, 1857. Section 5, Reddin Crisp, 1839; Nimrod Smith, 1849; Nathan S. McClure, 1853; Robert O. Horr, 1856; Stephen Gilmore, 1857. Section 6, John H. Wiley, 1853; Stephen Gilmore, 1855; Cornelius Achord, 1856; Aaron F. Wiley, William Kontz, 1857. Section 7, Cornelius Achord, 1852; James Musgrave, 1855; Sarah C. Achord, 1856; John W. Wiley, Elizabeth Ray, 1857; George P. Davis, 1876. Section 8, William G. Langford, 1842; Reddin Crisp, 1840; Nathan S. L. McClure, 1853; James Musgrave, 1855; John W. Thompson, John F. Nofsinger, 1857; William J. McDaniel, 1868. Section 9, Zephaniah Lacy, 1840; James M. Connor, 1853; Henderson Horton, Thomas J. W. Williams, Thomas W. Mitchell, 1856; John W. Thompson, 1857. Section 10, James Jolly, Eli Lindley, Zephaniah Lacy, 1840; James M. Connor, John Dale, 1853; John M. Connor, 1854; Elizabeth Horne, 1855; Robert O. Horne, 1856. Section 11, Nicholas Pyle, 1840; John Dale, Edwin Pyle, 1853; Thomas Long, 1854; David Hunter, 1855; James O. Connor, 1859. Section 12, James E. Carrick, 1840; Charles L. Discomb, Frederick Discomb, Edwin Pyle, 1853; William M. Ross, 1856; William H. Long, 1857. Section 13, Zephaniah Lacy, 1840; James Dale, 1851; Alfred Hocker, 1855; Hezekiah McPherson, 1856; Charles Rector, 1857; Matthew Scott, 1855. Section 14, James Connor, 1840; Warren Birdsall, 1849; James M. Connor, 1853; Alfred Hocker, 1855; James M. Tucker, 1856; Samuel D. Hasten, 1858. Section 15, James Jolly, 1840; John Dale, 1853; Henderson Horton, 1854; Robert O. Horne, Elizabeth Horne, Noah Elrod, 1856; John Hervey, 1857. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17,
Gideon Harrison, 1848; Samuel W. Hair, 1853; John W. Hasten, 1854; John W. Thompson, 1856; John J. Roberts, 1857; Robert Winder. Section 18, Joseph M. Lemaster, John W. Hasten, 1855; State of Missouri, Samuel W. Hair, 1857; Alexander J. Frick, 1860. Section 19, James Musgrave, 1851; James L. Peck, 1854; Thomas J. Williams, 1856; Alexander J. Frick, State of Missouri, 1857. Section 20, Wibern Langford, 1842; James Musgrave, George W. Wiley, 1851; Samuel W. Hair, Alexander W. Johnson, 1853; John J. Roberts, 1856; Alexander J. Frick, 1857. Section 21, John Hervey, Philip Martin, Gilbert W. Murphy, William Mitchell, Edward H. Travis, 1853; Alexander W. Johnson, 1855; Aaron F. Wiley, Mary Johnson, Robert F. Templeton, 1856. Section 22, William Mitchell, 1853; Henderson Horton, 1854; Noah Elrod, Edmund P. Smith, 1856. Section 23, Nathaniel Willett, 1850; Warren Birdsall, 1851; Zephaniah Lacy, 1853; Alfred Hocker, 1855; William Gish, 1856. Section 24, William Bell, 1840; Thomas W. Willett, 1854; Alfred Hocker, 1855; Robert F. Templeton, Hezekiah McPheerson, 1856; Polly Owing, 1857.
Township 33, Range 28.–Section 1, Andrew J. Dighton, Samuel Goodspeed, Henry Collins, William J. Smith, Simon P. Collins, Samuel S. Brown, 1857. Section 2, Matthew D. Russell, 1854; Simon P. Collins, Alexander W. Johnston, Samuel S. Brown, Isaac Gearhart, Thomas H. Hanks, 1857. Section 3, Crafton J. Beydler, 1856; Thomas H. Hanks, Isaac Gearhart, Henry Denster, 1857. Section 3[sic], Thomas H. Hanks, William B. Wilson, Joseph B. Carrico, 1857; Guy L. Walker. Section 5, James R. Lindley, James R. Steel, 1856; State of Missouri, 1857; Thomas Brasher, 1858. Section 6, John Crisp, 1856; Alexander F. Downing, George W. Taylor, William Jones, George W. Dickson, 1857; James R. Lindley, 1856. Section 7, State of Missouri, 1844; Morris W. Mitchell, 1856; Leonard Stump, 1857. Section 8, James M. Steel, 1856; State of Missouri, George W. Taylor, Isham H. Brasher, 1857; Crafton J. Beydler, 1859. Section 9, William B. Wilson, Andrew J. Dighton, Andrew S. Mucker, 1857. Section 10, William J. McDaniel, 1858; Thomas Y. Boston, William Jones, Andrew J. Dighton, Michael Cline, 1857. Section 11, Samuel A. Moore, John Walker, Andrew J.
Dighton, Thomas H. Hanks, Andrew W. Johnston, 1857; George W. Kirby, 1866; George Boston, 1868. Section 12, Samuel A. Moore, 1853; John Walker, 1856; John B. Earle, Edward F. Williams, William Thompson, 1857. Section 13, Zephaniah Lacy, 1842; Samuel A. Moore, 1848; Jonathan R. Moore, 1853; John W. Hestand, Edward F. Williams, 1856; John R. Edwards, William D. Lowery, 1857. Section 14, Andrew J. Dighton, 1857. Section 15, Andrew J. Dighton, Thomas Y. Boston, George W. Dickson, Michael Cline, 1857; State of Missouri, 1859. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, State of Missouri, 1844; 1857; Isham S. Brasher, John Crisp, 1856; Isaac Morris, George W. Kavanaugh, 1857. Section 18, State of Missouri, 1844. Section 19, Bird S. Lacy, Lewis Lake, William H. Henry, Frederick Cretzmeyer, Jacob Naecker, 1857; Richard Davis, 1868. Section 20, Frederick Cretzmeyer, William Naecker, Lewis Lake, State of Missouri, 1857; John M. Cook, 1858. Section 21, Andrew J. Dighton, John H. Wiley, State of Missouri, 1857; William M. Morris, 1858. Section 22, Andrew J. Dighton, William B. Johnson, John H. Wiley, 1857; State of Missouri, 1859. Section 23, Robert H. Lemaster, 1856; Andrew J. Dighton, 1857. Section 24, John H. Haire, 1852; Edward F. Williams, 1853; David Ross, 1856; Samuel S. Brown, David Crews, Edward D. Lowery, 1857; Esias Earle, Francis M. Brown, 1856.
Township 33, Range 29, --Section 1, Henry Collins, Andrew Baker, Alexander W. Johnston, Crafton J. Beydler, 1856; State of Missouri, 1857. Section 12, Isham S. Brashear, Nicholas F. Jones, 1856; Andrew J. Dighton, 1857; Morris W. Mitchell, 1858. Section 13, State of Missouri, 1843; Bird S. Lacy, 1855; George W. Akard, Andrew J. Dighton, Philip Martin, 1857; Francis Bracklen, 1866. Section 24, Preston Thomas, George H. Botts, Andrew J. Dighton, James W. Bass, Charles Ingles, 1857; Robert J. McElhany; William W. Sterman, 1858; W. C. McMullan, 1866.
Township 34, Range 25.—Section 1, John Ray, John Darby, 1849; William Lenox, 1853; John Darby, 1854; John Noland, David Morton, John S. McConnel, 1856; George King, James Peake, James H. Mitchell, John S. Davison, Reuben F. Bauman, James S. Easley, 1857; Granville L. Noland, John Noland,
1859. Section 2, John S. McConnel, 1851; Joseph Hubbard, Frederick F. Gray, 1852; Jeremiah Reins, 1853; Martha Gannaway, John Garrett, 1854; John Cowan, Ebenezer Arnold, 1856; John W Gannaway, Calvin Jones, 1854; Enoch Davison, John C. Morton, James S. Easley, William R. Dixon, Granville Noland, Zimri Dixon, Albert Dixon, 1857. Section 3, Calvin Jones, William R. Dixon, William R. Williams, 1853; Edmund F. Gannaway, 1854; William F. Roy, Frederick T. Gray, 1856; Nathan Beson, John S. McConnel, James S. Easley, William Hulstone, Benjamin K. Cravens, 1857; Washington W.Gannaway, 1858. Section 4, Shadrack Chandler, 1864; John H. Gannaway, 1855; Charles Louis Zahnsdorff, Jane Eliza Flagler, William R. Williams, Edward N. Shields, James F. Hood, 1857. Section 5, John Simmons, 1853; Samuel Stalsworth, 1856; Philip Flagler, Green Simmons, Adeline Flagler, Samuel D. Mitchell, Catharine E. Flagler, James F. Hood, William H. Thompson, William G. Blake, Charles Louis Zahnsdorff, 1857; William Simmons, William Campbell, 1858; Thomas Herbert, 1877. Section 6, Samuel Stalsworth, Thomas N. Cook, William Simmons, 1850; James Davis, 1849; James Simmons, 1853; James Taylor, 1854; William Stalsworth, 1852; William Campbell, 1856; Richard B. Cary, Catharine E. Flagler, William G. Blake, Hampton Brasher, 1857; Thomas Butner, 1855; William Simmons, William S. Coulter, 1858; Henry Cloppert, 1859. Section 7, John A. Murphy, 1850; James Simmons, 1853; Atha G. Hudson, Joseph Simmons, 1856; State of Missouri, Joseph Baker, 1857. Section 8, Andrew Newman, 1845; John Simmons, 1853; Sterling Callahan, 1854; Green Simmons, 1856; State of Missouri, John F. Wall, 1857. Section 9, Andrew Newman, 1845; John Allen, 1853; Shadrach Chandler, 1854; Wiley B. Gordon, 1856; Marion Simmons, James S Easley, 1857. Section 10, Thomas Jones 1845; John S. McConnell, William A. King, 1853; Absalom Baker, 1857. Section 11, Abraham Mitchell, 1845; William G. Parkinson, 1851; John S. McConell, Bernette Allen, Thomas McConnell, 1853. Section 12, George R. Cowan, 1845; James H. Mitchell, 1853; John S. Davison, James S. Easley, 1857. Section 13, William Campbell, 1850; William H. Harris, William G. Parkinson, 1853; John S. Davison, 1845; Louis Igo,
Edmund Chersen, 1854; John A. Frieze, State of Missouri, 1857. Section 14, William Campbell, Joseph Linn, 1850; John C. Phillips, John Allen, 1851; Thomas Jones, 1844; Isaac M. Wilson, 1856; George P. Dorris, 1871. Section 15, Thomas Jones, 1845; John S. McConnell, Robert H. Walker, Nelson M. Jones, John C. Phillips, Robert Simmons, 1853; James Walker, 1856. Section 16, State of Missouri, Section 17, John B. Ingram 1845; Wiley B. Jordan, Henry Minick, 1856; Alexander H. McAlfin, 1845; David Vonberbger, Michael Engleman, 1857; Andrew J. Williams, John F. Wall, 1858. Section 18, Sampson McConnell, John B. Ingram, 1851; Delilot Ingram, 1856; James Taylor, 1848; Agatha G Hudson, 1856; Joseph Whitman, 1856; Sims Edgar, 1856. Section 19, James B Douglas, 1855; Michael Engleman, 1857; Sampson Crandall, 1855; Edward Neely, 1852; John H. Paynter, 1856; T Hudson, 1866; Lossan Thompson, 1856; Jonas Thompson, 1852. Section 20, William Minick, 1854; William M. Minick, 1857; Henry Minick, 1856; Samuel J. Firestone, 1856; Allen H McAlfin, 1855; John B Douglas, 1853; John R Williamson, 1856; Isaac M. Ballinger, 1870. Section 21, Peter Hudson, 1850; Meredith Hudson, 1853; Joseph Strange, Thomas Williams, Thomas J Jones, 1855; Paul H Strange, 1854. Section 22, Henry Emerson, 1853; Mathias Phillips, 1850; James T Jackson, 1845; Jacob Phillips, 1850; Meredith Hudson, 1850; Peter Hudson, 1853; Robert Simmons, 1853. Section 23, Jacob Lindley, 1853; John S Curl, 1857, William H. Curl, 1853; John A. Frieze, 1857; Elias Davison, 1850; John S. McConnell, 1853; John Curl, 1853; Corcelia Jones, 1851; John C. Phillips, 1853; Jacob Phillips, 1851; Mathias Phillips, 1853. Section 24, Nancy Harris, 1853; Samuel Maxwell, 1853; Samuel Maywell, 1857; George W. Curl, 1857; Henry Rickman, 1859; Rufus Curl, 1858; Jacob Cowan, 1854; William Campbell, 1850; John S Curl, 1846; George P. Dorris, 1870. Section 25, Robert Stubblefield, 1849; D. H. Connaway, 1853; John G. Kennedy, 1846; Benjamin A. Marshall, 1854. Section 26, Thomas Monon, 1846; Benjamin A. Marshall, 1853; John Baker, 1845; Absalom Baker, 1845; George W. Scroggins, 1853; Jacob Lindley, 1853; Joseph Barkley, 1854; William H. Curl, 1845. Thomas Jones, 1845; Sarah
Hibbard, 1851; Louis Derossette, 1851; George P. Dorris, 1870. Section 27, John Baker, 1847; Joseph Barkley, 1853; Joseph Winton, Sr., 1845; Joseph P. Jackson, 1855; Henry Emerson, 1856; Edward Nelson, 1854; Jefferson Jackson, 1856; Jacob Lindley, 1845. Section 28, Alsay Lindley, 1845; Garrott Philpott, 1853; Edward Nelson, 1853; Fleming Owen, 1853; Lucy D Brown, 1854; Renford T Emerson, 1853; Jonas Mann, 1850. Section 29, Garrott Philpott, 1854; Jonas Mann, 1850; Henry Rickman, 1853; Henry Bockman, 1854; Jeremiah M. Smith, 1854; John Taylor, 1853; Nicholas Jones, 1857; Benjamin Candell, William M. Hamby, 1866. Section 30, Lucy G Brown, 1856; John Oldham, 1856; Thomas Holman, 1860; Jacob S Coldman, 1860; T Hudson, 1866; Michael T Firestone, 1856; Jonas Thompson, 1852; James Butler, 1853. Section 32, Josiah Jackson, James H Brown, William Montgomery, Garrott Philpott, Russell J Powell, 1857; William G Ball, Thomas Jones, 1859. Section 34, Cornelius Taylor, William York, 1857; Thomas A Fox, Henry Emerson, Murray Sherrill, 1856; Morris W. Mitchell, 1855; Elizabeth Humphrey, 1851; Jefferson Jackson, 1853; Jacob Lindley, Riley Sherrill, 1845. Section 35, Benjamin Strange, Robert H Strange, 1853; Paul H Strange, 1854; William York, Cornelius Taylor, 1857; John B Salmon, 1856; Alfred M Underwood, 1852; John Young, 1846; Thomas Jones, 1847. Section 36, Elizabeth Humbard, 1858; Hiram Hopkins, Benjamin A Marshall, 1853; Samuel T White, 1857; William Irwin, 1845; George W Davis, 1850; Paul H Strange, 1851.
Township 34, Range 26—Section 1 Asa Llewelyn, Jesse Ezell, William Brasher, 1856; James Simmons, 1855; Jesse Israel, 1842; William Bruiser, Ulysses Gipson, 1854; Benjamin Crabtree, Edward C Peters, 1857; Benjamin H Cravens and Elias Davison, 1859; Minerva Crabtrree, 1850; Thomas Butler, Ulysses Gipson, 1857; Hampton Brasher, 1855; James Taylor, 1855; William J Prewitt, State of Missouri, 1854; John W Nelson, Scott Lindley, 1877; Henry Cloppert, Thomas Jarnagen, 1859; Pitman Lindley, 1848, James Taylor, 1856; Pleasant M Coulter, 1852. Section 2, Oliver Hubard, 1840; Thomas English, 1840; William Brasher, 1853; James Hartley, 1840; Isaac L. Hendria, 1842; State of Missouri, 1854; James Taylor, 1856;
Bartholomew Milholen, 1840; Jesse Israel, 1842; Russell Lilburn, 1853; James Beard, 1855; John Lindley, 1840; Mary Sherrill, 1853; James M Frazier, 1858-59; Christopher Bullard, 1840; Franklin Frazier, 1857; James A. Kennedy, 1870; William F Wilcoxen, 1881. Section 3, James M. Frazier, 1849; Isaac L. Hembree, 1853; Joel B. Hembree, 1852; Matthew Wallace, 1850; Jared Nelson, 1852; John Lindley, 1840; Jacob Sherrill, 1859; Jesse Hembree, 1852; Mary Sherrill, 1853; James Beard, 1855; M. Sherrill, 1854; State of Missouri, 1854; John Lindley, 1850; George W. Boutman, 1853; Henry Hubbard, 1856; Thomas D. Kennedy, 1859; James Mann, 1860; John Y Kennedy, 1855; William T. Kennedy, 1855; William Kennedy, 1852. Section 4, Edward Pyle, Garrott Philpott, James W. Blevins, Rukard Hurd, 1857; Shadrach Chandler, James Beard, 1856; Isaac L. Hembree, 1853; Jesse T. Hembree, 1852; John Lindley, 1845; Garrott Philpott, 1853; Thomas C Kennedy, 1853; William B. Coats, 1855; John Lindley, 1840; William T Kennedy, 1851; Samuel Nickel, 1851; John C Whitney, 1841; Samuel Hornbeck, 1853; Benjamin Spencer, 1841; Russell Lilburn, 1859; State of Missouri, 1857; Section 5, Daniel R Murphy, 1853; James W. Blevins, Rukard Hurd, 1857; R. S. Ford, 1866; J. H. Osgood, 1856; Lewis Jockell, Henry M Younger, 1857; Henry F Parks, 1873. Section 6, George W. Doyle, Charles R Mitchell, James McGellway, Thomas Wood, Luke Wood, 1857; John A Murphy, 1853; Jesse C Walker, 1860; S. C. Swaggerty, 1868; William Christie, 1857; Rees Bayliss, 1857; James Stewart, William Pankey, 1856; Ellen Robbins, 1857; R.McFurman, 1875; R. C. Younger, 1877. Section 7, Milton H Lacy, 1846; Benjamin H Cravens, 1850; Andrew J Stewart, 1853; Mastin Church, 1857; Zachariah Stephens, 1857; Isaac M. C. Maybury, 1854; Samuel Coldren, 1857; Isaiah Town, 1840. Section 8, Zimri Crabtree, James Taylor, Elisha Edge, 1846; Shadrach Chandler 1865; Daniel R Murphy, 1852; Washington Crabtree, 1847; Zachariah Stephens, 1857; Ulysses Gipson, 1848, Section 9, Thomas Smith, 1857; Isaac L Hembree, 1853; Joel Hembree 1852; James M. Frazier, 1855; Shadrach Chandler, 1855; William G Blake, 1846; Isaac H. Hembree, 1857; Jacob Sheville, James
Luper, 1846. Section 10, Jacob Lindley, 1840; Isaac L Hembree, 1842; James M Frazier, 1855; Jerman P Bacon, 1854; Milton H Lacey, 1846; Thomas Smith, 1856; Frank H Smith, 1871. Section 11, State of Missouri, 1854; Warren Hearne, 1854; Irason Taylor, 1841; James M Frazier, 1854; German P Bacon, 1854; Francis Dunnegan, 1850; John Hants, 1853. Section 12, Daniel Hudson, 1853; State of Missouri, 1854; Paufer Simmons, 1851; Joseph Simmons, 1855; Robert P Falkner, Edward C Peters, 1857. Section 13, Joseph Whitman, 1830; State of Missouri, Rollin Hudson, 1857; Henry Hudson, 1851; Miles Gibson, 1849. Section 14, Silas Baker, 1842; Christian Nininger, 1853; John M Cauley, 1853; John C Hants, 1853; Henry Hudson, 1852; Isaac L Hembree, Abel J Bacon, 1857; Samuel J Firestone, 1856; State of Missouri, 1854. Section 15, Isaac L Hembree, 1842; William Edge, 1847; Brittain Williams, 1840; Fleming Parkely, 1859; Jacob Sherrill, 1847; James Crabtree, 1847; Abel J Bacon, 1857; Madison Miller, 1847; Henry Edge, 1848; Benjamin L Edge, 1850; James C Cook, 1857. Section 16, Thomas Smith, 1851-55; James Beard, 1855; State of Missouri. Section 17, John McCauley, 1853; John Pape, 1857; John W Hill, 1853; Richard Hanston, 1851; William C Church, 1855; James Beard, 1855; Henry Edge, 1851; Thomas Younger, 1853; Hutchins B English, 1848. Section 18, State of Missouri, 1859; Francis Younger, 1854; Joseph Allen, 1853; James Johnston, 1847; Thomas Younger, 1857; James C Cook, 1853; Andrew H Steward, 1857; John W. Hill, 1853; William Cook, 1847. Section 19, John Agnew, Pallas Neely, 1857; James Petty, 1854; Henry N Younger, 1860; John W. Hill, 1856; Mastin Church, 1857. Section 20, John D Ban, John Shaddle, John E Hartley, 1857; James Beard, 1855; Pallas Neely, 1853; Elisha Hunter, 1846. Section 21, William J Coulter, 1853; John Baker, 1856; James C Cook, Benjamin L Edge, John Shaddle, Barnete L Cornwell, 1857. Section 22, John W Sheppard, 1839; Delaney Williams, 1840; James C Cook, 1855; William Irvin, 1852; John Baker, 1853; William J Coulter, 1854. Section 23, George Wilcox, 1850; Hiram Webb, 1856; John Swingle, 1851; Allen H Follis, 1845; Samuel J Firestone, 1856; John L Ball, 1853, Madison Spencer, 1853;
John H Paynter, 1856; Section 24, Lawson Thompson and Robert Pickard, 1845; Lawson Thompson, 1853; Thomas C Tuttle, 1857; William Crandell, 1853; Noah W Sain, 1850; B. G. Nance, 1853; Eli Lindley, 1844; John Swingle, George Wilcox, 1851. Section 25, William C Daniel, 1853; Charles A Parkerson, 1854; Irwin Cordell, 1854; Sampson Cordell, 1853; Hammadatha Rowden, 1853; John Butler, 1854; John Oldham, Elijah Rowden, Alfred W Oldham, 1853. Section 26, Alfred W. Oldham, 1856; William Maddy, 1856; William C Thornton, 1876; Evan Taylor, 1853; George Wilcox, 1856; J. E. Smiley, 1856; William McDaniel, 1856; John H Paynter, 1856; Malcolm McDougall, 1841; John H Oldham, 1856; John E Smiley, 1856. Section 27, State of Missouri, 1854; Isham Edge, 1856; James Miller, 1839; John Baker, 1855; Jacob Miller, 1839. Section 28, John Miller, 1840; Thomas L. Morse, 1857; Clement L Miller, 1856; John Baker, 1855; Barrett L Cornwell, 1854; Isham Edge, 1857; John McCauley, 1853; L. Little, 1868. Section 29, Thomas McKean, James L Bishop, 1857; Andrew J Cook, 1856; William Teusenharfer, 1870. Section 30, Alexander Galbraith, 1853; James L Bishop, 1856; Samuel Miller, 1855; John W Shaw, 1859; William N Farmer, 1858; S. L. Morris, 1868; Jacob H Ackason, 1857; Andrew J Cook, 1853. Section 31, Gideon Petty, 1857; Isaac Phipps, 1866; Hezekiah Ruth, 1853; Samuel Miller, 1855; John H Casteel, 1856; Jacob H Ackason, 1856; John W Morris, 1870. Section 32, Gideon Petty, 1858; Silas Baker, 1857; Alexander Galbraith,1859; William J Coulter, 1855; Mary C Miller, 1854; David B Lovell, 1854; Andrew J Cook, 1856; Meshack Rowden, 1857. Secton 33, George Rutlege, 1842; Boyd Miller, 1845; Joseph English, 1840; Loomis Little, 1868,; John Pollard, 1856; Silas Baker, 1857. Section 34, State of Missouri, 1854; George Rutlege, 1842; James Miller, 1840; Joseph English, 1840; John Miller, 1840; George P. Dorris, 1870. Section 35, Charles A Parkinson, 1856; Peter Loony, 1853; Gray Callahan, 1859; Elijah Rowden, 1857; Henderson P. Holmes, 1843; Elijah Miller, 1840; Hugh Gartner, 1857; Clement L Miller, 1855; William Montgomery, 1842; William McDaniels, 1856; Letty Stevens, 1859; Christian Nininger, 1860; Ewell R Johnston, 1857. Section 36,
Hiram Webb, 1853; Lathon Broyles, 1854; State of Missouri, 1854; James Butler, 1853; Elijah Rowden, 1855; Charles A Parkerson, 1855; Jesse Rowden, 1853.
Township 34, Range 27—Section 1, Emir Wilson, 1853; Luke Wood, Stephen Ford, Samuel Voorhees, Mary McKee, 1857; Calvin Ford, 1858; James Stewart, 1856; Andrew J Stewart, 1853; William Pankey, John Armstrong, 1857. Section 2, Calvin Ford, 1857; Elizabeth Jones, James Hill, Margaret S. Mitchell, Charles Myers, 1858; John Porter, 1858; Thomas B. Graham, 1858; Luke Wood, 1857; William C. Graham, 1859. Section 3, John Satterfield, 1849; John Edsall, 1840; James Carroll, James Hill, John M. Price, 1857 Charles Gearhart, 1858; Samuel B. Edsall, 1840; Robert Graham, 1840; Christopher J. Lamberton, 1845; Mary McKee, 1857. Section 4, John Edsall, Alexander McWilliams, 1840; William H. Edsall, 1836; John W. Satterfield, 1856—57; Gottlieb Glowner, 1858; William H. Kirby, Jacob Hoabler, William Hervey, Mary McKee, 1857. Section 5, Joseph H. Dulles, Ann Graham, State of Missouri, 1857; Jonas Chaney, Gottlieb Glowner, James B. Crawford, 1856; John H. Young, 1875. Section 6, James H. Carter, James B. Crawford, Peter Bray, 1856; State of Missouri, Joel H. Chaney, Calvin Y. Stamps, Peter Osborn, Thomas Wright, George W. Bray, Joseph H. Dulles, Ann Graham, William D. Sutherland, David S. Hill, 1857; William Hill, 1858; Alfred L. Jeffries, 1858; Calvin E. Cansey, 1874. Section 7, James H. Carter, David S. Hill, 1856; William Stafford, James A. Hill, Joseph Harvey, Joseph H. Dulles, 1857; Hiram J. Bryson, 1877. Section 8, Jacob Lindley, 1840; Benjamin F. Walker, 1843; Joseph Allen, 1852; Joseph H. Dulles, James A. Hill, 1857; Alexander Burchell, 1840. Section 9, Jacob Lindley, John Callender, 1840; James Crawford, 1841; Hardy Johnston, James D. Johnston, 1856; John Satterfield, John Stearns, 1857. Section 10, John M. Price, 1856; William C. Lee, 1855; William B. Melton, Milton A. Maybury, A. H. Stone, Calvin S. Maybury, John Stearns, 1857; Theresa Suggs, 1878. Section 11, William C. Lee, 1855; Elizabeth Jones, Gilbert B. Garlock, 1857; Charles Myers, 1858; Jesse Terrill, 1858. Section 12, Erwin Wilson, 1833; James Steward, 1844; Andrew Steward and Andrew S. Steward, 1855; Newton Paul-
sell, 1856; John C. McIntyre, 1857; Jesse Terrill, 1858. Section 13, George W. Buster, 1855; Andrew S. Steward, Newton Paulsell, William Buster, 1856; Thomas Younger, 1857. Section 14, George W. Buster, Wyatt J. Lowery, Mary Dobbs, Elizabeth Jones, Edwin Ball, Alexander T. Downing, 1857; C. P. Shockly, 1876. Section 15, Edwin Ball, 1855; Milton A. Maybury, 1856; Alexander T. Downing, George Worrall, 1857. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, Matilda G. Jenkins, 1840; Joseph Allen, 1849; John Gist, 1853. Section 18, Lorenzo Waugh, 1842; Richard Huston, 1852; Samuel Miller, Joseph H. Dulles, Catharine Cline, 1857; Anderson Downey, 1860. Section 19, Elgin G. Hill, John A. Murphy, 1856; Joseph H. Dulles, Hutchins B. English, State of Missouri, 1857; William Massey, 1869; William Sensenderfer, 1870. Section 20, James M. Allen, 1840; Mary Allen and others, 1855; John Gist, Anderson Downey, John A. Murphy, 1856. Section 21, James Giddens, Daniel R. Murphy, 1856; Mastin Church, 1859; William Massey, 1869; Philip T. Foust, 1879. section 22, Jacob Lindley, James C. Henderson, 1855; Isaac Allen, 1856; Alexander T. Downing, Sheppard Brown and John H. Johnson, 1857; Philip T. Foust, 1879. Section 23, Catharine A. Nelson, 1854; Alexander T. Downing, Sheppard Brown, and John H. Johnson, Andrew H. Steward, 1857. Section 24, Thomas B. Armstrong, John McCallister, 1840; Leonard Stump, Jr., Alexander T. Downing, Sheppard Brown, and John H. Johnson, 1857; Austin Fox, 1858. section 25, Thomas B. Armstrong, 1840; Morgan Ingram, 1853; John S. Church, Thomas Wrenn, Alexander T. Downing, 1857; Walter Butler, 1858; Timothy N. Hill, 1859; George E. Kitsmiller, 1870. Section 26, William H. Vann, 1844; William L. Hill, Jacob Lindley, 1854; Samuel R. W. Julian, 1855; James Giddens, Timothy N. Hill, John W. Hill, John H. Hill, 1856; Alexander T. Downing, 1857. Section 27, William C. Cook, 1848; Elgin G. Hill, 1855; James Giddens, Jacob Routh, 1856; Henry Leader, Jacob Lindley, 1857. Section 28, Daniel R. Murphy, 1856; Henry H. Myers, Harriet Elliott, 1857; William Teague, 1858; Joshua Pyle, 1859. Section 29, John Ferguson, 1840; Stephen Brown and John H. Johnson, 1847; John Routh, 1854; Mary Allen and others, 1855, John W.
Hicklin, Solomon Loveall, William Johnson, 1856; William C. Cook, 1859, 1859. Section 30, William Pankey, 1848; Elgin G. Hill, John W. Hicklin, 1856; John Agnew, 1857. Section 31, Benjamin F. Walker, 1857; Solomon Loveall, John W. Hicklin, Adam Hunter, Samuel D. Mitchell, 1856. Section 32, Reddin Crisp, 1840; John D. Templeton, 1841; John Walker, 1853; Solomon Loveall, 1854; Stephen Gilmore, 1856; Benjamin F. Walker, William Thompson, 1857. Section 33, John Firestone, Henry H. Myers, 1856; Stephen Brown, and John H. Johnson, Alexander T. Downing, Andrew Y. Nininger, John Crisp, 1857; Wayne H. Parsons, 1858; Benjamin A. Hart, 1860. Section 34, James Fryer, 1852; Henry Collins, 1853; John Firestone, 1854; James Giddens, Jacob Ronk, 1856; James Pank, Alexander T. Downing, 1857. Section 35, John McCallister, James Jolly, 1840; Henry Collins, Timothy N. Hill, 1853; Elizabeth H. Wickliffe, 1854; Samuel R. W. Julian, 1855; John Firestone, John W. Routh, 1856. Section 36, Thomas B. Armstrong, John McCallister, 1840; Morgan Ingram, 1853; Richard A. Roberson, 1854; William M. Wickliffe, 1854; Thomas Wrenn, 1856; Morgan O. Ingram, 1857.
Township 34, Range 28.—Section 1, J. P. McDevit, 1857; A. H. Chinn, 1861; John Brown, 1870; Terrell Woody, 1877; Littleton Wilson, 1871. Section 2, Rebecca A. Lemand, Charles F. Garrett, 1857; State of Missouri, 1854; William Hamby, 1852; Milton Gilbreath, 1843; Robert Patterson, 1853; John G. Hall, 1856; James F. Brown, Samuel Medlar, Henry C. Hall, James Wysand, 1857; Elizabeth Hall, 1847. Section 3, Thomas F. Mudd, 1843; State of Missouri, 1854; Thomas Sheppard, 1858; John M. Jackson, 1867; John Helt, 1885, Hugh Gilbreath, 1843; Absalom R. Clark, 1858; John Roberts, John G. Hall, Pressley Saunders, James McCloud, James Wysant, Nathan Shirley, 1857; Isaac Shirley, 1860. Section 4, Granville Tucker, 1853; Thomas F. Mudd, 1843; James L. Henry, 1853; Smith Turner, 1852; State of Missouri, Thomas L. McKennie, 1853; John Tarlton, 1857; Thomas Cox, 1858; Pressley Saunders, John Brown, Thomas S. Brown, Robert Cox, 1857. Section 5, James L. Henry, 1853; John W. Hicklin, 1843; Smith Turner, 1856; Pressley Saunders, John M. Craddock, Jasper N. Robinson, William Hendricks,
John M. Dulles, Francis Pace, 1857; Francis M. Hendricks, 1856; James L. Henry, 1859; John Pace, 1855; Mary D. Ball, 1861. Section 6, State of Missouri, 1854; Alexander H. Henderson, John M. Craddock, William Hendricks, Ambrose Reeder, Hansom Geer, 1857; James B. Amos, 1858; Mary D. Ball, 1861. Section 7, Charles C. Brownlee, 1856; Alwood Hopson, 1857. Section 8, Coardin Horsle, Pressley Saunders, 1857; James L. Henry, 1843; Charles C. Brownlee, 1856. Section 9, Alfred G. Potter, 1857; James Maby, 1856; Reginald F. Buller, 1868; George T. Chapman, 1856; State of Missouri, 1854; William Mudd, 1843; Granville Tucker, 1843; Coardin Horsle, 1857; James L. Henry, 1856; Lydia Foster, 1875. Section 10, M. M. Thompson, 1866; Faltor Forster, State of Missouri, 1857; George T. Chapman, 1856. Section 11, Pressley Saunders, 1857, George T. Chapman, Addison Y. Hamby, 1856; Mary C. Shirley, James F. Brown, 1857. Ansel Buckrin, 1858; Henry P. Boder, 1870. Section 12, Thomas H. Hanks, Hutchins B. English, John A Moore, 1857. Section 13, Richard H. Paxton, Thomas H. Hanks, 1857; John M. Moore, 1856; State of Missouri, 1854. Section 14, State of Missouri, 1844; John M. Moore, 1856; James M. Chapman, 1858; Pressley Saunders, 1857; William Mitchell, 1854. Section 15, State of Missouri, 1844; George T. Chapman, 1856; Robert Patterson, Pressley Saunders, 1857. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, James L. Henry, 1859; James T. Moore, 1867; Richard Hudson, 1856; Henry Earle, 1843; Davis L. Harrison, 1857; Pressley Saunders, 1857; James Skaggs, 1843; Israel Robertson, 1854. Section 18, William Barnes, Alwood Hopson, Tobias Holliday and David Banner, 1857. Section 19, State of Missouri, Thomas J. Murphy, 1857; John Estes, 1856; William Wells, 1859; Daniel S. Berry, 1845; James Fetterington 1856. Section 20, State of Missouri, 1857. Smith Turner, 1855; Pressley Saunders, 1857; Lucinda Robertson, 1854; James L. Henry, 1855; Michael F. Robinson, 1853; Elijah Morrison, 1857; James L. Henry, 1865; James R. Lindley, 1856. Section 21, Andrew Martin, Pressley Saunders, Theophilus L. Downing, Green Brasher, James S. Rolfe, Tobias Holliday, 1857; Abner Turner, 1856; Enoch J. Rector, 1854; Section 22, State of Mis-
souri, 1854; Josiah Gentry, 1857; Bagley T. Kesterson, 1856; James C. Cox, Pressley Saunders, Andrew J. Martin, 1857. Section 23, State of Missouri, 1854; Francis Bracklew, 1868; James T. Moore, 1879. Section 24, Richard H. Paxton, 1857; Isaac J. Wheeler, 1854; Hutchins B. English, 1857; James M. Moore, 1857; Addison Y. Hanby, 1856; David Froutz, Thomas H. Hanks, 1857. Section 25, James Giddens, 1856; David Waggoner, 1856; Reuben S. Holman, 1881; Thomas H. Hanks, James P. McDevit, 1857; F. M. Long, 1876; Isaac J. Wheeler, 1854. Section 26, William J. Smith, Thomas H. Hanks, Clifton H. Moore, 1857. Section 27, Clifton H. Moore, Henry Dinslow, James S. Jones, Christian H. Moorman, 1857. Section 28, Christian H. Moorman, 1857; William M. Hunter, 1854; John H. Brasher, 1855; James S. Jones, 1857; Enoch C. Rector, 1853; Susan Wysons, State of Missouri, 1857. Section 29, State of Missouri, 1857; William Callison, James S. Rolfe, 1858; John R. Lindley, 1856; Edward May, 1854; Thomas Markham, 1847. Section 30, State of Missouri, 1854; Pleasant Shelley, Reason J. Smith, William Shelley, Virginia Wysons, Charles Robinson, Charles N. Robinson, William E. Downs, 1858. Section 31, James R. Lindley, 1859; Howard Darlington, Henry Darlington, William E. Shelley, William E. Downs, Pleasant Shelley, 1857. Section 32, Thomas Brusher, 1856; State of Missouri, 1854; DeWitt C. Hunter, 1857; James B. Carrico, 1855; John Tarleton, 1857; James R. Lindsley, 1859, Howard Darlington, 1857. Section 33, State of Missouri, Andrew Lineaker, 1857; Crafton J. Beydler, 1856; David W. Martindale, 1848; James B. Carrico, 1853. Section 34, John Hervey, Richard H. Paxton, 1857; Sylvester Fuller, 1868; Christian H. Moorman, 1857; David C. Hunter, 1854; Isaac N. Dodge, 1876; Crafton J. Beydler, 1856. Section 35, Mathew D. Russell, 1854; Jacob Waggoner, 1856; William J. Smith, John Hervey, 1857; A. F. Ingram, 1870. Section 36, David Frantz, 1856; Benjamin W. Addleman, William J. Smith, 1857.
James R. Wood, Bartlett Coniers, 1866; James Prickett, George S. Amos, William Sanger, 1857; William Sensenderfer, 1870. Section 12, Alexander H. Henderson, William L. Felix, 1857; State of Missouri, 1842. Section 13, Alexander H. Henderson, 1857; State of Missouri, 1842. Section 24, John G. Monly, 1854; John A. R. Brim, Robert Richardson, Joseph Allen, John M. Richardson, Elijah Long, 1856. Section 25, Ferdinand C. Jones, 1855; Polimico L. Stacy, State of Missouri, 1854; John A. R. Brim, Jesse F. Steward, 1856, Joseph Allen, 1858. Section 36, Henry Darlington, 1857; State of Missouri, 1857; David H. Wilson, 1869; Thomas Y. Boston, William Rorick, Charles H. Robinson, 1857; Seaton Ready, 1855; Rowley A. Williams, 1858.
Township 35, Range 25.—Section 1, Andrew L. George, 1854; James Hendricks, 1877; Griffin G. Hall, 1850; Alfred Hall, 1872; Margaret Jane and William L. Snyder, 1872. Section 2, Heirs of J. Marlow, 1875; Charles Hopper, 1856; Hugh Hall, 1858; John Owen, David Allen, 1872; Hartwell Pace, 1855; William Allen, 1874. Section 3, J. McClure, 1876; Robert Meadows, James A. Pace, 1859; John Green, Hartwell Pace, Andrew J. Culbertson, 1853; Washington Whitlow, 1850; Morris Holt. Section 4, John E. Vinson, C. C. Bristow, 1860; Andy Culbertson, 1855; Hartwell, 1856; Matthew Francis, 1856; Agricultural College, Austin Sheeks. Section 5, John E. Francis, 1860; Joseph Francis, 1853; Joseph E. Bristow, 1858; Edward Bristow, 1852; Angeline Molder, 1857; Hezekiah Thompson, 1860; John C. Bristow, 1857; Alexander Burchett, 1874; James N. Rennison, 1856. Section 6, Agricultural College, D. H. Reading, 1877; Green L. Powell, 1853; Charles H. Fleeman, 1870; William Smith, 1855. Section 7, Jesse Hicks, 1856—57; William Bristow, 1856; Thomas B. Hopkins, 1872; William Kidder, Solomon G. Human, 1856; William Snell, 1868; James G. Davidson, 1853; Nancy P. Human, 1872. Section 8, Agricultural College, Nancy Smith, 1872; John Francis, 1853; John Achenhurst, 1852 and 1857; J. W. Ledgerwood, 1870; Jesse Hicks, 1856. Section 9, Agricultural College, Mary Smith, 1872; Austin Sheeks, 1878; John E. Francis, 1857; Jane Ledgerwood, 1877. Section 10, James T. Hopper, 1859; Celia Childers, 1854
and 1858; James M. Hosey, 1857; Agricultural College, Oscar F. Tapp, 1858; M. Holt, William K. Tapp, 1858; N. E. Bradburn, 1868. Section 11, Agricultural College, Lawson Y. Weir, 1850; Harden Smith, 1858; John H. Smith, James Childers, 1858; Henry Ames, John D. Crank, 1854. Section 12, Lucy Owen, 1875; Lawson Y. Weir, 1850, 1857 and 1859; Philip Heron, James Childers, 1858; James S. Hendricks, 1878; B. N. Loftin, William H. Smith, 1859. Section 13, William F. Rodgers, 1847, 1852; William Lenor, 1857; James D. Huston, 1853; Lawson Y. Weir, 1854, 1857; John Weir, 1847; John W. Whitfield, 1857. Section 14, John W. Whitfield, 1857; Lawson Y. Weir, 1852; James Childers, 1853; John S. Nevins, 1857. Section 15, Samuel W. Wood, 1858; William Flint, 1854; James Hosey, 1856; David S. Thurston, 1857. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, Denton Ackren, 1865; Isaac N. Bradshaw, 1860; Johnson Thompson, 1858, 1860; Isaac Bradshaw, 1853; James G. Davidson, 1866. Section 18, Henry Clapper, 1858; H. A. Young, 1877; John D. Simrell, 1878. Section 19, John H. Robinson, Henry Clapper, 1858; J. H. Anderson, 1866; Agricultural College. Section 20, Levi Bickle, 1858, William S. Spear, 1859. Section 21, Thomas D. Hall, 1858; Denton Acrea, 1856, 1858; Oscar F. Tapp, 1858; John Burchett, 1864; Levi Bickle, 1857; William C. Wood, 1858. Section 22, Solomon G. Crank, 1837; Elbert A. Strawhorn, Granville S. Burkett, 1859; Agricultural College, R. E. Condon, 1870; John Reid. Section 23, Thomas Crank, 1855; Charles Hopper, 1860; Lawson Y. Weir, John S. Nevins, 1857; Solomon G. Crank, 1858; Robert E. Garrison, 1874. Section 24, George W. Norman, 1855; 1857; M. E. Garrison, 1874; George C. Yoast, 1852; Burrett Eccleston, 1847; Hiram A. Woodman, 1858; John N. Gordon, 1856; John H. Molder, 1877; Thomas Crank, 1856. Section 25, John Cox, 1851; Josiah C. Culbertson, 1854; Thomas Frazier, 1857; David Molder, 1851, 1853; M. E. Garrison, 1874; James M. Noland, Elliott Bland, Enos R. Cooper, 1858. Section 26, Baldwin McCarty, 1853; James Black, 1856; Jackson Hopper, 1854; Elliott Bland, 1858; Samuel F. Hall, 1858; Lawson Y. Weir, 1854; Thomas D. Hall, Jr., 1857; Robert E. Garrison, 1874; Edwin B. Humphrey, 1859; Abraham H. Snyder, 1858; Samuel R. Oaks, 1853. Section 27,
Abraham H. Snyder, 1858; Harbound H. Crawford, 1855, 1858; Jackson Hopper, 1856; William R. Williams, 1858; J. F. Hopper, 1866; John Bayless, 1859; Nathan Keller, 1856; William L. Acrea, 1855; W. F. Ewers. Section 28, William R. Martin, 1855, 1858; James Dudley, 1856; McDaniel Taylor, 1856; Alfred Hingle, 1875; John H. Hall, 1856; Thomas D. Hall, 1858; William C. Wood, 1860; Oscar F. Tapp, 1855, 1858; Josiah L. Morton, 1856. Section 29, Joseph Spear, 1859; William E. Harl, 1869; John Pritchard, 1857. Section 30, Asa Sackett, 1856; John Pritchard, 1857; Alexander Simrell, Albertin Miller, 1858; John D. Lamsel, 1859; Jacob A. Mayfield. Section 31, Nancy W. Coulter, Henry Cloppard, Samuel Graves, 1857; Thomas K. Young, 1855; Asa Sackett, 1856; Pleasant M. Coulter, 1854. Section 32, H. Clagdrick, William L. King, 1857; Jacob Sherrill, 1858; Wayne H. Gardner, Oliver McCarty, 1856; Agricultural College. Section 33, G. W. Clayton, Amos Richardson, 1857; Richard B. Harber, 1856, 1858; McDaniel Taylor, 1859; L. M. Martin, 1870; George King, 1857. Section 34, Matthias Williams, 1834; Albert Martin, 1858; Elizabeth, Nathan and Calvin Raines, 1854; Samuel A. Hansard, 1853; Robert Draper, 1857; John H. Hall, 1855; Denton Acrea, 1858; John W. Hansard, 1857. Section 35, Jacob Vann, 1853; William B. Martin, 1854; Larkin Williams, 1852; Jackson Hopper, Lemuel R. Oakes, Thomas D. Hall, 1853; William T. Rogers, 1852; James Frazier, 1845; William Oakes, 1856; William R. Martin, 1855; Matthias Williams, 1854. Section 36, Jacob Dixon, 1849, 1857; Lawrence Rains, 1851; Elias Davison, 1855; Samuel Garrison, 1856, 1858; Joel Abbott, 1872; Matthias Williams, 1838, 1857; Robert Clark.
Township 35, Range 26.—Section 1, William Snell, 1853; John J. Ogle, 1849; Sylvester Dudley, 1870; State of Missouri, 1856; John M. Barding, 1856; Henry Montgomery, 1841; Rookins R. Moore, 1854; Peter B. McKay, 1859; James Barford, 1855; Jefferson L. Summers, 1841. Section 3, State of Missouri; Rookins R. Moore, 1857; James Burford, 1855; Peter B. McKay, 1853; Benjamin T. Burford, 1851; Andrew G. Capps, 1857. Section 4, James Burford, 1858; William Clifton, 1858;
Leonard Wintermole, 1839; Samuel Clifton, 1855; Burras Ahart, 1851; Samuel W. Horn, 1857; Ainze Keeley, 1851. Section 5, William Wolf, 1839; Samuel W. Horn, 1854; Samuel Clifton, 1855; Samuel Caplinger, 1853; Thomas J. Caplinger, 1851; State of Missouri, 1854; Henry Palmer, 1841. Section 6, Benjamin F. Capps, 1866; Samuel W. Horn, 1858; State of Missouri, 1854; Charles Miller, 1857; Albert Camp, 1870; Obediah B. Griffin, 1859. Section 7, John B. Powell, 1858; Benjamin F. Capps, 1866; James Rutledge, James B. Harris, 1857. Section 8, John L. Hensley, 1848, 1859; State of Missouri, 1854; N. J. Davis, James L. Berger, 1843; Samuel W. Horn, 1855; Green D. Powell, 1853; Linsey Bowman, 1839. Section 9, James Cawthon, 1855; Abraham Berger, 1839; Ainze Keeley, 1855; William Hawthorn, 1856; State of Missouri, 1854; James J. Jones, 1840. Section 10, Samuel Simrell, 1856; Samuel K. Francis, Aranson A. Capps, 1857; Preston W. Burford, James Cawthon, 1859; James Simrell, 1849. Section 11, Agricultural College, Thomas P. Moore, Samuel K. Francis, 1857; George H. Richardson, 1870; David O. Folly, 1856; John E. Francis, 1855. Section 12, Wiley Hicks, 1859; W. H. Thompson, 1870; Jesse Hicks, 1848; S. F. Ralston, 1874; Thomas P. Moore, 1857; Rookins R. Moore, 1885; Nelson M. Jones, 1855. Section 13, Clayton B. Holt, 1870; Littleberry Davis, 1858; James G. Human, 1858; William H. Thompson, 1870; George W. Oakes, 1857; M. S. Parish, 1875; John B. Hosey, 1858; James W. Childress, 1859. Section 14, George W. Oakes, Francis W. Caplinger, 1857; Sherman J. Caplinger, 1850; John E. McCormick, 1860. Section 15, David Hance, State of Missouri, 1851; Jacob Hafft, 1858; Lawson H. Draper, 1840; George E. McCormick, 1860; Allen Sarrell, 1852; James Simrell, 1840; Daniel Hance, Hexekiah Harryman, 1839. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, John M. Barding, 1857; Abram C. Parish, 1858; George C. Light, 1859; John L. Hensley, 1855; N. J. Davis. Section 18, Green D. Powell, 1853; Philip H. Worley, 1857; George W. Oakes, 1855; Henry L. Davis, 1839; James B. Harris, 1857; George Neece, 1841. Section 19, Andrew J. Capps, 1855; David Hopper, 1857; Green D. Powell, 1852; George W. Oakes, 1850; Mary R. Lutleff, 1857; James G. Hop-
kins, 1856; William Gwyn, 1854. Section 20, Sampson A. Capps, 1855; William Snell, 1851; Isaac W. Mayers, 1853; John Stewart, 1858; Green D. Powell, 1853; Sarah Maracle, 1848. Section 21, State of Missouri, 1854; David Welch, 1839; Abram C. Parish, 1857; William Mitchell, 1858; James H. Caplinger, 1856; Thomas Gilpin, 1870; Francis M. Caplinger, 1858; Thomas A. Caplinger, 1857. Section 22, Abraham Peyton, 1855; State of Missouri, 1854; John Welch, 1839; Henry Stutsman, 1858; Lawson H. Draper, 1839; Aaron Whitney, 1842; Hezekiah Harryman, William Welch, David Welch, 1839; James W. Caplinger, 1855. Section 23, Michael Hornbeck, 1857; Henry Sortore, 1855; Asa H. Kennedy, 1856; Peter Draper, 1858; Daniel Hance, Gardner F. McKenzie, 1857; Joseph Kinney, John B. Hosey, 1858; William Stubblefield, 1855. Section 24, Albertus Miller, 1859; David Allen, 1869; J. H. Anderson, 1866; Agricultural College, Alfred Fishburn, 1857. Section 25, John D. Samsell, 1857; Francis Seals, 1853; Lewis Y. Tackett, 1855; Albertus Miller, 1858; Allen B. Kennedy, 1855; James Pinkman, 1880; James Caudell, 1853. Section 26, Allen B. Kennedy, 1853; Thomas K. Young, 1854; Madison Spencer, 1853; Edmund Word, 1852; Asa H. Kennedy, Samuel Hornbeck, 1853; John B. Hosey, 1856; Jesse Hicks, Michael Hornbeck, 1855. Section 27, James Hornbeck, 1839; John B. Hosey, 1858; State of Missouri, 1850; Samuel Caplinger, 1848; John J. Turpin, 1852. Section 28, James W. Caplinger, 1856; William Snell, Robert Williams, 1841; Andrew Masters, 1859; Samuel Caplinger, 1854; James and Thomas Caplinger, Abraham Peyton’s heirs, 1858; State of Missouri, 1857; William Slackhouse, 1870. Section 29, Michael Hoffman, George Babcock, David Hooper, 1857; Sampson A. Capps, George Neece, 1855; James Parker, 1866. Section 30, George Neece, 1849; Edwin M. Purcells, David Hooper, 1857; William Cook, 1840; William R. Powell, 1850; Nelson B. Eaves, 1869. Section 31, Frank J. Folsom, Samuel Hutchinson, Edwin M. Purcells, 1857; Martin H. Haywood, Thomas Cook, 1855; Sarah C. Riggle, 1858. Section 32, Robert M. Kent, James Parker, Michael Wilson, George Neece, Frank J. Folsom, 1857; Martin H. Haywood, 1855. Section 33, James Parker, 1853; William Parker, 1839; James Allison, 1858;
Robert M. Kent, 1857; Nathan Parker, 1847; Samuel Caplinger, 1854. Section 34, Charles Mann, 1853; Mason Crabtree, 1839; Christopher P. Tackett, 1853; Michael Hornbeck, 1855; Nathan Parker, 1838. Section 35, Josiah Wilcox, Asa H. Kennedy, 1853; Allen B. Kennedy, 1857; Madison Spencer, Christopher P. Tackett, 1851; Thomas K. Young, Michael Hornbeck, 1855; Jesse Spencer, Nelson Jones, 1854; Baldwin McCarthy, 1855; Benjamin Spencer, 1849; Samuel Hornbeck, 1848. Section 36, Pleasant M. Coulter, 1854; Oliver McCarty, 1854; Samuel Hornbeck, 1859; Samuel Graves, Michael Hornbeck, Allen B. Kennedy, 1857; Philip Easp, 1853; John Young, 1852.
Township 25, Range 27.—Section 1, Albert Holt, 1858; M. R. Cannon, 1857; William F. Hatcher, 1859; Anthony Kissinger, 1858; George B. Bledsoe, 1854; John M. Harvey, 1857; James C. Preston, 1855. Section 2, Bergis Davis, 1853; William C. Neeley, 1858; James C. Preston, 1855; State of Missouri, 1854; William Ainsworth, 1839; John M. Smith, Littleberry Davis, 1853; Obadiah Smith, 1853. Section 3, State of Missouri, 1854; Obadiah Smith, Littleberry Davis, 1853. Section 4, State of Missouri, 1854; Martin Harvey, 1858; John Morton, 1849; William Sensenderfer, 1871; Littleberry Davis, 1857; Thomas W. Smith, 1853. Section 5, Thomas W. Smith, 1857; Benjamin S. Smith, 1856; Daniel Dale, 1839; John B. Finley, 1859; Jeremiah Hammontree, 1858; James W. Prowell, Anderson Morton, 1856. Section 6, Anderson Morton, 1839; William W. Wiley, 1857; Jeremiah Hammontree, John Sherman, William Y. Wiley, 1858; Samuel Clifton, 1852; James W. Provier, 1856; George W. McGuire, 1859. Section 7, William L. Gordon, 1839; Thomas E. Smith, 1853; Benjamin Kidd, 1857; William Y. Wiley, 1857; James Queenstreet, 1856; William Y. Wiley, 1857; James Herring, 1858; Samuel M. Sutliff, 1857. Section 8, Elijah G. Penn, 1858; State of Missouri, 1854; Alexander Peak, Mitchell E. Gash, 1839. Section 9, Daniel Dale, 1839; John Morton, 1840; Billingsly Roberts, 1853; Samuel L. Smith, 1856; State of Missouri, 1857, 1869; James C. Sims, 1858; William H. Casey, 1884. Section 10, Obadiah Smith, 1839; Benjamin Smith, 1853; John T. Strickland, 1854; State of Missouri, 1857. Section 11, Adam Eslinger, 1846; William
Ainsworth, 1839; William R. Hackleman, John T. Strickland, William C. Neeley, 1855; Edward Conway, 1857; Samuel Merrill, Thomas Y. Evans, 1858; Asa Strain, 1859; State of Missouri, 1854. Section 12 William Ainsworth, 1839; William R. Hackleman, 1854; Noah M. Douglass, 1855; Thomas Y. Evans, State of Missouri, 1857; Nancy Capps, 1858. Section 13, James Gordon, 1839; State of Missouri, 1854; Alexander M. Johnston, 1853; Thomas Y. Evans, 1855; George W. Oakes, Alfred C. Powell, 1858; Francis M. Williams, 1860. Section 14, Robert Williams, John G. Williams, 1839; Thomas L. Hackleman, 1853; State of Missouri, 1854; Samuel L. Smith, 1857. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, Mitchell E. Gash, 1839; Charles H. Collins, James T. Nichols, James Sallee, Bartholomew Ward, Patrick Murrin, 1858; Alexander Eason, 1859. Section 18, Josiah V. Edwards, James McDowell, 1840; James Curry, 1853; State of Missouri, Benjamin Wyatt, 1854; Jesse J. Murray, 1858. Section 19, Josiah V. Edwards, 1840; Benjamin Wyatt, 1854; Benjamin C. Vandervoort, 1851; Timothy Moshier, James T. Francis, Charles Ward, 1857; William DeShan, 1868. Section 20, Conrad Dell, Benjamin C. Vandervoort, James Phillips, William E. Bray, 1857; Charles H. Collins, 1858; William DeShan, 1868. Section 21, James McDowell, Andrew McDowell, Stephen R. Wright, 1839; William P. Morgan, 1856; John Fisher, Samuel S. Carroll, 1857; Section 22, Ezra Hamor, 1839; John B. Gordon, 1849; Enoch McCarty, 1853; John Fisher, 1857; James McDowell, 1839. Section 23, Ezra Hamor, 1839; Nicholas Keller, 1842; Enoch McCarty, 1853; State of Missouri, 1854; Alfred Keller, 1855; Francis M. Williams, 1856; Robert Williams, 1857. Section 24, Robert Williams, 1839; William L. Gordon, 1839; William Guinn, 1845, 1854, 1858; Joseph G. Hopkins, 1856; Mary R. Sutliff, State of Missouri, 1857; William Daniels, 1858. Section 25, William Cook, 1840; Thomas N. Cook, 1852; Dolly L. Powell, 1854; Barbara Powell, 1857; William R. Powell, 1855, 1858; William Guinn, William Daniels, Dorcas Lyttle, 1858. Section 26, William C. Powell, Campbell English, 1839; Green
D. Powell, Daniel Keller, 1853; Thomas Cook, 1855; Jonathan C. McCarty, 1856; George W. Oakes, 1857; Dorcas Lyttle, 1858; William Quinn, 1860. Section 27, James McDowell, 1839; Christopher J. Lamberton, 1845; State of Missouri, 1850; Conrad Dell, 1857; Green D. Powell, 1858, 1860. Section 28, Andrew McDowell, James McDowell, 1839; Homer F. Sutliff, Samuel S. Carroll, Conrad Dell, Daniel M. Turney, 1857. Section 29, Daniel M. Turney, George Sallee, Jahn A. Torbett, State of Missouri, 1857; Robert M. Williams, 1858. Section 30, William M. Ater, 1855; Samuel Medlar, Joseph W. Penn, John A. Torbett, Timothy Moshier, Charles Ward, Robert Noble, 1857. Section 31, John Hopton, 1840; Robert Noble, 1854; Samuel Medlar, State of Missouri, 1857; Daniel Ward, 1858. Section 32, John Hopton, 1840; James Smith, 1837; Calvin Y. Stamps, 1853, 1857; State of Missouri, 1854, 1857; George Sallee, 1857, 1858. William M. Ator, 1855; Harrison J. Robinson, 1858. Section 33, Christopher J. Lamberton, 1839; James Smith, 1841; State of Missouri, 1854, 1857; Michael P. Page, 1858; Abram Sallee, 1857, 1858. Section 34, Christopher J. Lamberton, 1839; Green D. Powell, 1853, 1860; Wesley Howe, 1856; Robert Williams, 1858; Susan S. Dills, 1859; Joel T. Walker, 1867. Section 35, Jacob Lawrence, John Long, William C. Powell, 1839; Green D. Powell, 1853; Jonas Hodges, 1859; Alfred C. Powell, 1858. Thomas Cawer, 1860, 1866. Section 36, Christopher J. Lamberton, 1844; William Pankey, 1857; Alfred Branham, John J. Sanborn, 1858.
Township 35, Range28.—Section 1, William C. Rentfrow, 1853; Nelson Sinnet, 1857; Eunice Bonnell, 1858; State of Missouri, 1854. Section 2, State of Missouri, 1854; David Welch, Elijah J. Walker, 1857. Section 3, State of Missouri, Joseph Burns, James Winter, 1857; Asa C. Marvin, 1859. Section 4, William Bradden, William H. Jewell, Joseph Burns, 1857; Allison D. Poer, 1854; State of Missouri, 1850. Section 5, Daniel Smoot, Malajah Edwards, Samuel Conant, Richard T. O’Neal, 1857; George M. O’Neal, 1858. Section 6, Claiborne C. L. O’Neal, Henry Conant, William P. O’Neal, 1857. Section 7, John G. Miller, William C. Rentfrow, Samuel A. Holbrook, Ephraim Nute, 1857; Asa C. Marvin, 1858. Section 8, State of
Missouri, Samuel A. Holbrook, 1857. Section 9, State of Missouri, William Ingram, 1857. Section 10, William Seets, 1855; Samuel A. Holbrook, William Hunt, Alexander C. Stewart, 1857. Section 11, John H. Packett, 1858; Joseph W. Irvin, William Hunt, 1857; William Seets, 1855; James McCloud, 1858. Section 12, John Hollingsworth, 1853; John Hughes, 1857; Lindsey Connor, 1857; Asa C. Marvin, Josiah C. Pickett, 1858; Hezekiah B. Fowler, 1859. Section 13, James McDowell, 1839; Oliver P. Gash, 1839; State of Missouri, 1854; William H. McDougall, 1859; Samuel Wyatt, 1857; Reuben Gash, 1853. Section 14, Reuben J. Gash, 1839; State of Missouri, 1854; Polly Gash, 1855; Nancy Pickett, William H. English, 1858; Josiah C. Pickett, William Seitz, 1857. Section 15, State of Missouri, Joseph Wallace, Nathaniel H. Lacy, William H. English, 1857; Joseph H. Bradley, 1858; Charles G. Comstock, 1872. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, State of Missouri. Section 18, Abner Grinstead, Thomas D. Ransom, James Willis, 1857; William L. Stokes, Bainbridge H. Bradshaw, 1856. Section 19, Elias G. Milton, Josephus Madden, Horace B. Westenhauer, 1858; Joshua Howell, Thomas B. Ransom, 1857; John B. Fox, 1859. Section 20, Calloway Melton, Barnd Tucker, 1855; Zachariah Burriss, 1856; William E. Swearingen, State of Missouri, 1857. Section 21, William S. Helm, Asa C. Marvin, 1857; Joseph Wallace, 1858. section 22, William Keran, Luther D. Waterman, Mary A. P. Maddox, Joseph Wallace, 1857; Calloway Melton, 1855; State of Missouri, 1850; Joseph H. Bradley, 1858; John Begley, 1856. Section 23, James O’Toole, State of Missouri, Nathan H. Lacy, Augustus F. Unger, Alexander C. Stewart, 1857; John Morgan, Samuel B. Ruark, 1858; Edward Moore, 1868. Section 24, Alexander McWilliams, 1839; Charles Ward, William H. Dougall, John Morgan, James O’Toole, 1857; Samuel B. Ruark, 1858. Section 25, Alexander McWilliams, 1839; Patrick and John Morgan, 1853; Miles C. Drake, John Morgan, James Rennick, 1857. Section 26, Nathan H. Lacy, 1855; Augustus Unger, James O’Toole, John Morgan, William Keran, Charles W. Hunt, 1857. Section 27, Nathan H. Lacy, William Keran, Thomas A. Anderson, William P. McElroy, Andrew T. Woodruff, 1857; Elijah Barnes, John Begley 1858. Section 28,
Andrew T. Woodruff, William P. McElroy, Asa C. Marvin, 1857. Section 29, State of Missouri. Section 30, Squire Holman, 1856; Jonathan Gaddis, Joseph B. Gaddis, James K. Thomas, 1857; Henry Scott, 1858. Section 31, Manuel Collins, Lewis H. Phillips, Bartlett R. Congress, William W. Corlew, 1857. Section 32, Calvin P. Love, 1856; Andrew J. Bell, William H. English, Lewis H. Phillips, 1857; John Collins, 1858. Section 33, Robert Warmick, Patrick Hallerman, John H. McLeland, Asa C. Marvin, Andrew J. Bell, 1857. Section 34, John Minton, Francis Divers, 1857; Elijah G. Penn, James McCloud, Alpheus Hendricks, 1858. Section 35, William Hendricks. Section 36, Samuel Medlar, James Hickey, Daniel Ward, John Wash, James Rennick, 1857.
Township 36, Range 26.—Section 17, William Denson, John Denson, 1844; William R. Howard, 1855; Andrew J. Nichols, State of Missouri, Henry C. Kerr, 1857. Section 18, Francis Yeast, 1838; John Bland, 1849; Daniel Bland, 1848; Benjamin Stevens, 1858. Section 19, Benjamin F. Skinner, 1857; Erastus C. Sharp, Philip A. Moore, 1858. Section 20, William Denson, 1838; Henry Alexander, 1840; Alexander Ward, 1848; Stephen Hodgin, 1853; Thomas Elsinger, 1855; Jacob Dale 1858. Section 29, James Richardson, John P. Campbell, 1839; Stephen Hodgin, 1853; State of Missouri, 1854; Thomas S. Hackleman, William H. Bland, 1856; Jacob Roe, 1857; George McCoy, 1858. Section 30, John P. Campbell, Charles A. Haden and John Bullard, 1839; George Leslie, Daniel Bland, Samuel G. Leslie, 1854; Twinan Turner, 1857; Cornelius M. Leslie, 1856; George McCoy, 1858. Section 31, Eli Roberts, 1838; Jesse Bullard, 1839; Nancy Casey, Benjamin Reed, 1853; Daniel Bland, Pleasant H. Irwin, 1855; Julia L. Shubrick, John Strain, 1857. Section 32, John P. Campbell and Charles A. Haden, Andrew J. Snodgrass, William Wolfe, 1839; John Snell, Edmund Wood, 1851; Jacob W. Roe, 1855; E. Cowan, 1866.
Township 36, Range 27.—Section 13, Henry Cox, 1855; John W. Bland, William Rice, 1857; Erastus C. Sharp, Philip A. Moore, 1858; David Moore, 1859; Henry C. Nitchy, 1869. Section 14, William Rice, 1853; John Cox, 1848; Alexander McWilliams, 1852; Washington Moreland, Margaret Irwin, Alex-
ander W. Bothwell, Salmon Sharp, 1857; Thomas Eslinger, 1856. Section 15, Andrew Hutchinson, 1842; Anderson Morton, 1854; State of Missouri, Alexander W. Bothwell, 1857; William M. Bland, 1858. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, State of Missouri, 1842; John Burton, 1851; James Love, Philip Love, 1854; Amos Beck, 1856; State of Missouri, Lucinda Morris, 1857. Section 18, James Love, 1854; Robert G. Crockett, Amos Beck, 1856; Henry B. Brown, 1858. Section 19, Joseph J. Etheridge, Amos Beck, 1856; William F. Gault, 1857; Henry Falkerth, 1858. Section 20, John H. McCoy, Jonathan R. Godfrey, 1856; State of Missouri, James R. Barrick, 1857; James Love, Henry Falkerth, 1858. Section 21, John W. Hawkins, 1856; John R. Jarrett, 1857; Randolph Hopkins, 1858; James M. Belcher, 1859; John Ogden, 1860; Section 22, Stephen F. May, 1839; Thomas Eslinger, 1839, 1856; Robert H. May, 1840; Adam Eslinger, Anderson Morton, 1857; Hezekiah Harryman, 1858. Section 23, David Goss, 1848; Hezekiah Harryman, 1853; George R. Sellers, Cornelius M. Lessly, Samuel G. Lessly, 1857; John T. Campbell, 1875; Hubbard Holt, 1872. Section 24, John H. Dice, 1849; John Cox, 1852; William S. Granfell, Samuel G. Lessly, Cornelius M. Lessly, Twyman Turner, 1857. Section 25, Stephen Hodgin, 1839; George Lessly , 1849; Thomas Casey, 1852, 1853; George Casey, 1853; Thomas Loy, Cyrus H. Young, 1857. Section 26, George Lessly, 1849; Zimri T. Smith, 1852; Henry F. Fisher, 1854; Cyrus H. Young, Theodore Pemyea, John A. Snyder, William B. Lessly, Blackman H. Bird, 1857; Thomas Casey, 1853. Section 27, David Goss, 1848; Martha Eslinger, Adam Eslinger, Theodore Pemyea, William B. Lessly, 1857; Joseph Stark, 1856, 1857; John H. Snyder, 1854; William Owing, 1858. Section 28, State of Missouri, 1854, 1857; Robert Barnes, 1855, 1856; Amos Beck, John R. Jarrett, John R. Moffett, 1857; Philip Shrewsbury, 1858. Section 29, John Manfull, State of Missouri, 1857; George W. Day, David McCoy, 1858; Melissa Ogden, 1859. Section 30, Josephine Thompson, John Boyer, William F. Gault, 1857; Benjamin F., William M., James P., Thomas B. and Susan Fewell, 1857; William M. Lawson, 1858. Section 31, John B. Finley, Theodore Taylor, Franklin Hinkle, Henry Car-
roll, 1859. Section 32, Hiram Davis, Franklin Hinkle, Theodore Taylor, John B. Finlay, 1857; John W. Hawkins, 1858. Section 33, Edwin Woods, 1842; Robert Barnes, 1855; Hiram Davis, Burgess Davis, State of Missouri, 1857; William Pence, 1858. Section 34, Frederick Goss, 1840; Burgess Hurt, 1855; Pauline S. Mahan, Burgess Davis, Charles Miller, Sylvester Pence, 1857; Larkin Stark, 1875. Section 35, Adam Eslinger, 1846; Samuel L. Smith, 1852; Thomas Smith, Thomas J. Shaler, 1849; Thomas Eslinger, 1853; Benjamin F. McCarty, Charles Miller, Sylvester Pence, 1857; John A. Snyder, 1856. Section 36, William M. Ator, 1840; Pleasant H. Irwin, Thomas Casey, Thomas Caplinger, 1853; Twyman Turner, 1854; Thomas Eslinger, 1855; State of Missouri, 1854, 1860; William T. Eslinger, 1872.
Township 36, Range 28.---Section 13, Robert G. Crockett, 1856; William C. Tutt, James P. Crockett, James T. Dawson, 1857. Section 14, James Vickers, Thomas Jones, James W. Denver, Charles Pryse, 1857; John P. Vickers, Darlington D. Fee, 1858. Section 15, Henry W. Carpenter, William L. Clement, 1857; James P. Burke, 1858. Section 16, State of Missouri. Section 17, James W. Willingham, 1855, 1856; John Hardin, 1855; John A. Jackson, 1856; Elizabeth McCord, Samuel G. Williams, Nellie W. Madeira, 1858; J. R. Stewart, 1869. Section 18, Alanson Packard 1841; Eliza Parcell, 1854; James W. Willingham, 1855, 1856; William Ryan, 1856; State of Missouri, 1857. Section 19, James Fergus, 1843; Joseph Hardin, 1855; John Fergus, 1856; Charles A. Calhoun, State of Missouri, Daily Dunham, 1857. Section 20, Alfred Hardin, Samuel G. Williams, 1856; John Fergus, 1844, 1856; Francis C. Wood, 1857; Nellie W. Madeira, 1858; J. R. Stewart, 1869. Section 21, John A. Jackson, Chapman Taylor, 1856; Jefferson G. Harris, James W. Willingham, 1857. Section 22, Thomas Madding, 1856; Beverly C. Camp, John W. Miner, William C. Memphis, Henry C. Lawson, 1857; James M. Hubbard, 1858. Section 23, William H. Camp, Thomas Madding, 1856; James W. Denver, 1857; Phebe Hubbard, 1858; Simon V. Seitz, 1859. Section 24, Israel F. Beck, William E. Tutt, James T. Dawson, Henry C. Lawson, 1857; James T., Mary W., Israel F. and Jenerva E. Dawson, 1857; J. R. Stewart, 1869. Section 25, Ezekiel Tot-
ten, John R. Moffett, Mary M. Dawson, 1857. Section 26, William H. Camp, Lewis French, 1856; William P. Harrison, Samuel L. Montgomery, 1857. Section 27, James Farmer, 1855; Robert A. Keen, Green B. Adcock, William H. Camp, Israel F. Beck, 1856; Smith Harden, Henry C. Lawson, Waldo P. Johnson, 1857. Section 28, John M. Starr, 1856; Isaac J. Parrow, 1855; Andrew T. Woodruff, John R. Moffett, Waldo P. Johnson, Benjamin H. Henley, 1857. Section 29, William B. Box, John Fergus, 1844; Marlin Hardin, 1855; Alfred Hardin, David Box, 1836; William Murray, Henry A. Bugg, John A. Jackson, Smith Harden, State of Missouri, 1857. Section 30, Charles A. Calhoun, Thomas C. Hartshorn, 1857; Elijah G. Penn, 1858. Section 31, Charles C. and William C. Debrill, Stephen A. Blakey, Sylvester Spillman, 1857. Section 32, Reason A. Hawkins, 1854; Smith Harden, William P. O’Neal, David T. Bonnell, Stephen A. Blakey, 1857. Section 33, Allison D. Poor, Andrew Starr, Garnett L. Noel, State of Missouri, 1856; John B. Mays, George F. Harden, David Welch, Richard H. O’Neal, 1857. Section 34, Henry Martin, Green B. Adcock, Andrew Starr, Burgess Adcock, 1856; Andrew W. Murphy, 1857; Henry Martin, 1855; Green C. Reece, Andrew W. Murphy 1857; David Welch, 1855, 1857. Section 36, Stephen R. Brown, State of Missouri, 1854; James W. Prowell, Ezekiel Totten, 1857; Eunice Bonnell, 1858.
Some of the names above given will be recognized as those of early settlers, some are those of non-residents, and others of those who, though they have come at a comparatively recent date, were pioneers in their respective localities.
ORGANIZATION OF COUNTY AND TOWNSHIPS.
Cedar County was organized February 14, 1845, and there are a number of persons in the county who have lived in the counties of Polk, Dade and Cedar, successively, and at all times on the same farm.
County Boundaries.—The boundaries of Cedar County as first established, were as follows:
Beginning at the northwest corner of Township 35, Range 24; thence west on the township line dividing Townships 35 and 36, to the northwest corner of Section 4, of Township 36, Range 26; thence north to the northwest corner of Section 16, Township 36, Range 26; thence west to the southwest corner of Section 7, Township 36 and Range 28; thence south upon the line dividing the counties of St. Clair and Bates, continuing upon the line dividing Dade and Jasper, to the southwest corner of Section 24, of Township 33, Range 29; thence east to the west boundary of Polk County; thence north to the line dividing the counties of Dade and Polk to the northeast corner of Dade County; thence west one mile; thence north along the western boundary line of Polk County to the place of beginning.
The boundaries as re-defined in 1879, are as follows:
Beginning at the northeast corner of Township 35, Range 25 west; thence west with the township line between Townships 35 and 36, to the northwest corner of Section 4, of Township 35, Range 26 west; thence north with the subdivisional lines to the northeast corner of Section 17, Township 36, Range 26 west; thence west to. the northwest, corner of Section 18, Township 36, Range 28 west; thence south with the range line between Ranges 28 and 29 to the southwest corner of Township 35, Range 28 west; thence west with the township line between Townships 34 and 35 to the northwest corner of Section I, Township 34, Range 29; thence south with the subdivisional lines to the southwest corner of Section 24, Township 33, Range 29; thence east with the subdivisional lines to the southeast corner of Section 24, of Township 33, Range 25 west; thence north with the range line between Ranges 24 and 25 to the place of beginning.
May 8, 1845, the county court laid off the county into municipal townships for civil purposes, and defined the boundaries of the several townships thus:
Madison Township.—" It is ordered by the court that all that portion of territory included within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northeast corner of Section 24, running west with said line to Big Sac River; thence south with said river to the southeast corner of Section 24, in Township 33; thence north to the beginning, shall be designated and known by the name of Madison Township."
Jefferson Township.— "It is ordered by the court that all that portion of territory of Cedar County included within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northwest, corner of Township 35, in Range 24, thence west to the southeast corner of Section 31, in Township 36, in Range 26; thence north to Sac
River; thence south with the meanderings of said river to the section line dividing Sections 13 and 24 in Township 34; thence east with said line to the northeast corner of Section 24, in Township 34; thence north with the range line dividing Ranges 24 and 25, to the beginning, shall be designated and known by the name of Jefferson Township."
Linn Township. — " It is ordered by the court that all that portion of Cedar County included within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northeast corner of Section 17; thence with the county line to the northwest corner of Section 15, in Township 36, in Range 27; thence with the county line to Big Sac River; thence with the meanderings of said river north to where the said river crosses the county line; thence north with the county line to the beginning, shall be designated and known by the name of Linn Township."
Cedar Township. — " It is ordered by the court that all that portion of territory included within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northwest corner of Section 18, in Township 36; thence south to the southwest corner of Section 31, in Township 35, in Range 28; thence east to the section line dividing Sections 32 and 33; thence north with said line to the county line; thence west with the county line to the beginning, shall be designated and known by the name of Cedar Township."
Benton Township. — " It is ordered by the court that all that portion of territory in Cedar County included within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the southwest corner of Section 24, in Township 33, in Range 29; thence east to the southeast corner of Section 19, in Township 33, in Range 27; thence north to the base line; thence west to the county line; thence south with said line to the beginning, shall be designated and known by the name of Benton Township."
The record of the November term of the county court contains the following entry:
"Now at this day a petition being presented to this court praying for a change of the township line dividing Townships Linn and Cedar, the prayer of said petition being granted, it is ordered by the court that the line dividing said townships running north to go no further than Older Creek, thence down
History of Cedar County
Older Creek to the section line dividing Sections 3 and 10 in Township 35, Range 27; thence east with said section line to Sac River; thence north with the meanderings of said river to the county line, all inclusive, shall hereafter belong to Cedar Township for civil purposes." June 16, 1846, it was ordered that the line of Linn Township be extended two miles west, commencing at the base line; thence south to Dade County line. At the November term, 1847, John Hair filed a petition praying that all that portion of Cedar County described as follows, to wit: " Beginning at the northeast corner of Benton Township, running west to the divide between Cedar and Horse Creek; thence with that divide to the range line dividing Ranges 27 and 28" be added to Linn Township. The prayer was granted, and the territory described became a part of Linn for all municipal purposes.
Washington Township.—The record of the organization of this township, at the November term of the county court, 1854, is as follows: " Now at this day (November 20) sundry citizens of Jefferson Township presented to the court here a petition to divide said township, which by the court was examined and fully understood, and said division was made as follows, viz.: All that part of said township lying in the following bounds shall retain the name of Jefferson: Commencing at the northeast corner of Section No. 17, in Township No. 34, Range No. 25; thence north with said line to the north boundary of said township; thence west one mile with said line; thence north with range line No. 25, to the St. Clair County line; thence east to the Polk County line; thence south with said Polk County line to the line dividing Jefferson and Madison Townships; thence west to the place of beginning. And it is further ordered that the remainder of said Jefferson Township compose one municipal township, and shall be called and known by the name of Washington, and that the place for holding elections in said township be at the dwelling house of Asa R. Kennedy, and that the place for holding elections for Jefferson Township, shall be at the dwelling house of Jacob Dixon, Sr."
All the municipal townships west of Sac River were thus reorganized by the court May 25, 1855:
Box Township.— "All that portion of territory lying within the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northeast corner of Cedar County, thence south on the west line of Cedar County to the northwest corner of Township No. 34, of Range 28; thence east on the line dividing Townships Nos. 34 and 35 to the southeast corner of Section No. 32, in Township No. 35, of Range No. 27; thence north to the north line of Cedar County; thence west with the Cedar County line to the beginning, to be known as Box Township.
Cedar Township.— " All that portion of territory lying in the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the northeast corner of Box Township, thence east with the Cedar County line to Sac River; thence south in the middle of Sac River to a point where the north line of Section No. 16, in Township No. 35, Range No. 26, crosses said Sac River; thence west to Cedar Creek; thence up Cedar Creek to the mouth of Horse Creek; thence up Horse Creek to the Box Township line; thence north with the east line of Box Township to the beginning, to be known as Cedar Township."
Benton Township.—" All that portion of territory in the following boundaries, to wit: Beginning at the southwest corner of Box Township; thence south with the Cedar County line to the southwest corner of Cedar County; thence east with the Cedar County line to the northeast corner of Section No. 29, Township No. 33, Range 27; thence north to the southeast corner of Box Township; thence west with the south line of Box Township to the beginning, to be known as Benton Township."
Linn Township.—" All that territory lying in Cedar County west of Sac River, not included in Cedar, Box and Benton Townships, to be known as Linn Township."
February 6, 1880, it was ordered by the county court, that from and after that date, the municipal townships of Cedar County should be known and bounded as follows, to correspond with the map of Cedar County drafted by Babbs and Stoddard, and published by Reilly & Co., in 1879:
Madison Township. —" Commencing at the southeast corner of Section 24, Township 33, Range 25; thence north along the county line to the northeast corner of Section 24, Township 34,
Range 26; thence west on the section lines to Sac River; thence in a southerly direction along the main channel of said river to the county line in Section 22, Township 33, Range 26; thence east to the place of beginning."
Linn Township,— " Commencing in the main channel of Sac River at the county line in Section 22, Township 33, Range 26; thence in a northerly direction along the main channel of said river, to a point where said river leaves the subdivision line of lot 5, northeast one-fourth of Section 2, Township 34, Range 26; thence north between the east and west halves of lots 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9, northeast one-fourth of Section 2, Township 34, Range 26, to the base line; thence west along the base line to Cedar Creek; thence down the main channel of Cedar Creek to the mouth of Horse Creek; thence up the main channel of Horse Creek to where the same touches the base line; thence west along said base line to the northwest corner of Section 6, Township 34, Range 27; thence south along the range line to the county line at the southwest corner of "Section 19, Township 33, Range 27; thence east along the county line to the place of beginning."
Benton Township.— " Commencing at the county line at the southeast corner of Section 24, Township 33, Range 28; thence north along the range line to the base line; thence west along the said base line to the county line at the northwest corner of Section I, Township 34, Range 29; thence south along the county line to the southwest corner of Section 24, Township 33, Range 29; thence east along the county line to the place of beginning."
Jefferson Township. —" Commencing at the county line, at the southeast corner of Section 13, Township 34, Range 25; thence north along the county line to the northeast corner of Section 13, Township 35, Range 25; thence west one mile to the northwest corner of said Section 13; thence south one mile to the southwest corner of said Section 13; thence west three miles to the northwest corner of Section 21, Township 35, Range 25; thence south two miles to the southwest corner of Section 28, Township 35, Range 25; thence west two miles to the northwest corner of Section 31, Township 35, Range 25; thence south to
the Sac River; thence up the main channel of said river to a point where the same intersects the section line between Sections 14 and 23, Township 34, Range 26; thence east along the section lines to the place of beginning."
Washington Township.—"Commencing on the
the southeast corner of Section 12, Township 35, Range 25; thence two miles
north along the county line; thence
west along the county line to the
northwest corner of Section 4, Township 35, Range 26; thence north along the
county line to the Sac
River; thence in a southerly direction up the main channel of Sac River to where the same intersects the section line between Sections 9 and 16, Township 35, Range 26; thence west along the section lines to the northwest corner of Section 13, Township 35, Range 27; thence south to Cedar Creek; thence in a southerly direction up the main channel of said creek to the base line; thence east along the base line to the southeast corner of Section 36, Township 35, Range 26; thence north one mile to the northeast corner of said Section 36; thence east two miles to the southeast corner of Section 29, Township 35, Range 25; thence north two miles to the northeast corner of Section 20, Township 25, Range 25; thence east three miles to the southeast corner of Section 14, Township 35, Range 25: thence north one mile to the northwest corner of said Section 14; thence east one mile to the place of beginning."
Cedar Township.—"Commencing at a point where Sac River crosses the section line between Sections 19 and 16, Township 35, Range 26; thence in a northerly direction along the main channel of Sac River to a point where the same intersects the county line; thence north along the county line to the northeast corner of Section 17, Township 36, Range 27; thence west along the line to the northwest corner of Section 16, Township 36, Range 27; thence south along the section lines to the southwest corner Section 21, Township 35, Range 27; thence east one mile to the southeast corner of said Section 21; thence south to Horse Creek; thence in a northerly direction down the main channel of Horse Creek to Cedar Creek; thence in a northerly direction down the main channel of Cedar Creek to where the same intersects the section line between Sections 23 and 24
(at the northwest corner of said Section 24); thence north along the section lines to the northwest corner of Section 13, Township 35, Range 27; thence east to the Sac River; thence down the main channel of said river to the place of beginning."
Box Township.—" Commencing at the base line at the sec tion corner of Section 33, Township 35, Range 27; thence north two miles to the northeast corner of Section 28, Township 35, Range 27; thence west one mile to the northwest corner of said Section 28; thence north to the county line; thence west along the county line to the northwest corner of Section 18, Township 36, Range 28; thence south along the county line to the southwest corner of Section 31, Township 35, Range 28; thence east along the base line to the place of beginning.
" And it is further ordered, that all orders heretofore made in regard to municipal townships inconsistent with this order, be, and the same are hereby, rescinded."
The County Court.— The county court of Cedar County organized at Crow's mill, near the mouth of Bear Creek, April 7, 1845, with Thomas Jones, James L. Henry and Ezra Hamer as justices, who qualified before John B. Ingram, justice of the peace. Thomas Jones was appointed president of the court; James Cawthon, sheriff; Joseph Allen, clerk, and John E. Hartley, deputy clerk. Thomas Smith was appointed county assessor. Tuesday, April 8, the court met pursuant to adjournment, all three of the justices being present. It was " ordered that Thomas Jones be allowed, out of the county treasury, $4, for his services, two days, at the present term of court, as justice thereof, and that a warrant issue therefor." Similar orders were made in favor of other members and officers of the court, and an adjournment was had " till court in course."
At the regular May term, begun and held at Crow's mill, Monday, May 6, 1845, Ezra Hamer and James L. Henry, justices, were present, as were Sheriff Cawthon and Clerk Allen. In the absence of the president, James L. Henry acted as president
The court adjourned without
the transaction of any business until the next day, when the same justices
and officers were present. The only business seems to have been to adjourn.
Monday, May 8, the court divided the county into five townships for municipal
purposes, and issued an order naming
the places for holding elections,
and appointing judges of election for each. The sum of $6 was allowed
Province for keeping a pauper three months. At an adjourned term, held at
the house of Andrew F. Cook,
Monday, June 2, 1845, the places of holding elections in
Townships, were re-defined, and justices of the peace were appointed for the
several townships. The following order was entered on the record: " Ordered
by the court, that all courts to be held in and for Cedar County, shall be
holden at the house of Elisha Hunter, until the permanent seat of
justice is located according to law, and suitable buildings shall be erected
at said seat of justice."
Prior to 1878 the court consisted of three county court justices, one of whom acted as presiding officer, and the two others as associate justices. Under an act of the Legislature providing for a uniform system of county courts, the county court, in 1878, divided the county into two separate districts, making the first, known as the first district, consist of the townships of Madison, Washington, Jefferson and Cedar, and the second, known as the second district, of the townships of Box, Benton and Linn. In 1886 the county court redistricted the county thus: Northern district, Washington, Box, Jefferson and Cedar Townships; Southern district, Madison, Linn and Benton Townships. The county court has now, and has always had, jurisdiction over all county business proper, and, for such time as there has been no separate probate court, has also had jurisdiction over all probate business of the county.
Circuit Court. — The following is a part of the record of the first session of the Circuit Court of Cedar County:
Be it remembered: At the house of Elisha Hunter, in the county of Cedar and State of Missouri, the same being the temporary seat of justice and the place appointed for holding courts in said county, on Monday the 29th day of September, A. D. 1845, the same being the day fixed by law for the regular sitting of the circuit court in and for said county of Cedar, came the Honorable Foster P. Wright, judge of the Seventh Judicial Circuit of said State, and judge of the said Cedar Circuit Court, and took his
seat, and ordered James Cawthon, sheriff of said county, to open the term of said court, which was accordingly done by proclamation at the court house door by said sheriff in due form of law, whereupon a circuit court was constituted and held in and for the said Cedar circuit. Present, the Hon. F. P. Wright, circuit judge; James Cawthon, sheriff; and Joseph Allen, clerk. The sheriff of Cedar County returned hereunto court a venire, on which was indorsed the following panel of a grand jury, to wit: James Miller (1), who was by the court appointed foreman; Anderson Morton (2), John B. Gordon (3), Pitman Lindley (4), James Jackson (5), John Young (6), William Perkinson (7), George Fleeman (8), Jacob Miller (9), James Hartley (10), Nathan Parker (11), William Buster (12), William Brasher (13), Joseph Whitman (14), and James Hill (15), who, being duly charged and sworn, retired to consider of their presentments.
Elisha Hunter lived then on
the John Hartman farm, two miles south of
Stockton, on the
Greenfield road. In the head of a ravine east of Hartman's house, and near
where some buckeye trees now stand, on a log, sat the first grand jury of
and doubtless the members discharged their duties as faithfully as those of
the grand juries of to-day, who meet in the
On the following day Joseph Allen, clerk of the court, presented to the court an appointment of John Hartley, as deputy clerk of the circuit court, which appointment was approved by the court.
When the court was established, it was attached to the Seventh Judicial Circuit of the State of Missouri. It is now attached to the Twenty-fifth Judicial Circuit, composed of Cedar, St. Clair, Vernon, Dade and Barton Counties.
Aside from the war period, murders have been committed in Cedar County, but no murderer has ever been convicted and hanged under sentence in this court; nor has there ever been a judicial execution of the death sentence in this county.
R. N. Cox is clerk of the circuit court, and W. W. Younger, deputy clerk.
The Cedar County Bar.— It is to be regretted that the records of the Cedar Circuit Court do not contain the signatures of attorneys who practiced in it previous to 1863. There were several, however, who deserve special mention, among them, S. M. Grant, afterward county clerk; Shadrach Chandler, afterward probate judge; Z. B. German; Waldo P. Johnson, who was circuit judge in the 5O's, and a United States Senator at the opening of the civil conflict; De Witt C. Ballou, who was circuit
judge 1854-58; Thomas Freeman, who was a member of the Senate of the Confederacy; W. H. Otter; Littleberry Hendricks, once circuit judge in the adjoining circuit east; Burr H. Emerson, circuit judge 1863-71; E. C. Davis; Felix Hunton; Judge John C. Price, of Greenfield; Charles Bullock, once clerk of the St. Clair County and Circuit Courts; and Messrs. Cahill, Winston and Alexander McLain. The following-named practitioners have signed the roll of attorneys since the date mentioned: 1863 — James D. Perkins; Charles P. Bullock, Montevallo, Vernon County. 1864 — F. A. Hanford, James H. Lay, A. W. Van Swearingen, Montevallo, Vernon County; W. J. Terrill, Harrisonville, Cass County; Harrison J. Lindenbower, Springfield; A. N. Julian, Springfield; J. P. Tracy, Stockton; W. Galland, Bolivar, Polk County; John R. Cox, Springfield; James M. Jones, Springfield. 1866 — Joseph J; Gravely, Stockton; S. A. Wight, John D. Abbe, Bolivar, Polk County; James Masters, Stockton; R. F. Buller, Stockton; William O. Mead, Osceola, St. Clair County. 1867 — Daniel P. Stratton, Stockton; W. D. Hoff, Stockton; W. C. Webb, W. H. H. Waggner, L. P. Shafer, W. C. Montgomery, Stockton; J. G. McKeighan, Henry Merrill. 1868 — H. B. Watson, Bolivar, Polk County; D. A. De Armond, Greenfield, Dade County; John T. Wright, Stockton. 1870 — J. B. Upton, Stockton. 1872—James T. Farris, Stockton. 1874 — W. B. Burr, Stockton. 1875—J. J. Ducherale, Greenfield, Dade County; H. O. Girdner, Lamar, Barton County; William T. Johnson, Osceola, St. Clair County; W. H. Sherman, Rockville, Bates County; John B. Logan, Lamar, Barton County. 1879—James B. Gantt, Clinton, Henry County; T. H. Cameron, Greenfield, Dade County; William R. Hudson, Humansville, Polk County. 1880— Thomas M. Brown, Stockton; Clement Hall, Stockton; W.C. Hastin, Stockton; M.B. Loy, Stockton; James H. Harkless, Lamar, Barton County; R.B. Robinson, Lamar, Barton County; P.T Simmons, Springfield; T.H.B. Lawrence, Springfield; H.C, Timmons, Stockton; M.T. January, Nevada, Vernon County. 1881 — J.E. Stephens, Stockton; H.A. Smith, El Dorado. 1882 — C.E. Greenup, Stockton; Robert N. Bannister, El Dorado. 1883 — O.D. Hubbell, Virgil City. 1884 — O.E. Page, Jerico; C.A.
Ragland, Stockton.1885 — R. W. Burr, Lamar, Barton County; W. A. Edmonston, Mexico, Audrain County. 1887—J. B. Journey, Nevada, Vernon County. Of this list several have been prominent in one way or another. W. J. Terrill was a nominee for Congress in the Twelfth Congressional District. Harrison J. Lindenbower was murdered at Springfield in consequence of a disagreement about a business affair. J. P. Tracy, a man of ability, became a newspaper editor. Joseph J. Gravely served in the Civil War as colonel of the Sixth Missouri Cavalry, and was a member of Congress and Lieutenant-Governor of Missouri. S. A. Wight was justice of the circuit court. James Masters is the oldest resident member of the Cedar County bar. R. F. Buller represented Cedar County in the Legislature. William O. Mead, an able real estate lawyer, was once county attorney of Cedar County, and rose to be a circuit judge. W. C. Montgomery became a preacher of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and at one time was a presiding elder. D. A. De Armond became a circuit judge in northern Missouri. J. B. Upton, once county attorney, represented Polk County in the Legislature, and was Republican nominee for Congress in 1888. James T. Karris was prosecuting attorney for Cedar County. W. B. Burr was county attorney. James B. Gantt is a prominent lawyer and Democratic politician. Thomas M. Brown was county attorney of Dallas County. W. C. Hastin was prosecuting attorney for Cedar County. H. C. Timmons, a lawyer of ability, became well known as a journalist, and represented Barton County in the Legislature. O. D. Hubbell is the present prosecuting attorney for Cedar County.
Probate Court.—The first judge of the probate court was John E. Hartley, whose earliest official acts are recorded in 1847. At times the county court has had jurisdiction over the probate business of the county. There was no probate court during the Civil War. The present probate judge is Jerome N. Gunier. A complete list of probate judges is given elsewhere.
GENERAL COUNTY INTERESTS.
Judges of the County Court.—The following served during the whole or portions of years mentioned: Thomas Jones, 1845-46; Ezra Hamer, 1845-46; James L. Henry, 1845-46; Thomas English, 1846-50; John Edsall, 1846-48; Garrott Philpott, 1846-50; Hezekiah Harryman, 1848-50; Thomas Smith, 1851-54; Abraham Mitchell, 1851-54; John B. Ingram, 1851-52; Joseph Allen, 1853-54; Garrott H. Philpott, 1855-58; Isaac L. Hembree, 1855-54; John S. McConnell, 1855-58; Francis Dunnegan, 1858-61; Mastin Church, 1858-61; James L. Henry, 1858-60; John Fergus, 1861, John E. Ross, 1862-64; Anderson Morton, 1862-63; E. Davidson, 1863; Benjamin A. Marshall, 1864-72; Thomas S. Hackleman, 1864; James Greenstreet, 1865-66; William H. Curl, 1865-66; Robert Williams, 1866-68; Samuel Hornbeck, 1866-70; William Conner, 1869-74; James Hopkins, 1871-78; John Nobles, 1873-78; S. L. Kerr, 1875-76; D. L. Thompson, 1877-78. After establishments of two judicial districts: Presiding judges, L. B. Prouty, 1879-82; Walter A. Cheek, 1883-86; C. W. Paynter, 1887 to present time. First District: Isham Brasher, 1879-80; N. S. Nofsinger, 1881-82; Isham Brasher, 1883-86. Second District: James M. Akard, 1879-82; C. C. Fleeman, 1883-84; James M. Akard, 1885-86. Since redistricting: At Large: C. W. Paynter, 1887 to present time. Northern District: Omar T. Huff, 1887 to present time. Southern District: S. M. Phelps, 1887-88; S. E. Williams, 1879 to present time.
County Clerks. — Following are the names of the successive county clerks, the records showing that they have served during the whole or portions of the years designated: Joseph Allen, 1845-47; S. M. Grant, 1847-53; James M. Frazier, 1853-59; H. B. Lindsey, 1860-61; Dennis H. Connaway, 1862-70; James A. Cogle, 1871-74; E. C. Peters, 1875-78; G. L. Walker, 1879-86; T.J. Travis, 1887 to present time.
County Treasurers, during all or portions of years mentioned, have been the following: Nicholas McMinn, 1846-48; Samuel Moore, 1848; James M. Frazier, 1849-51; Washington Crabtree,
1852; J. W. Hill, 1853-59; William M. Hill, 1860-61; William J. Hawkins, 1862; C. C. Church, 1863-67; William Hulstone, 1867-81; J. F. Rutledge, 1882-84; G. R. Corbin, 1885 to the present time.
Sheriffs.—During the whole or portions of the year designated, the following have served as sheriffs: James Cawthon, 1845-47; John E. Hartley, 1848-52; William Montgomery, 1853-57; John E. Hartley, 1858; M. W. Mitchell, 1858-60; P. B. McKay, 1861; William Montgomery, 1862; Asa Strain, 1863-64; John H. Paynter, 1864-65; L. B. Davis, 1865-67; Abram Sallee, 1868-70; Jefferson Jackson, 1871-72; H. A. Church, 1873-76; Thomas A. Fox, 1877-78; William C. Snyder, 1879-81; T. J. McFarland, 1882-86; James E. Pyle, 1886-88; J. W. Legg, 1889 to present time.
Probate Judges.—J. E. Hartley, 1847; James Cole, 1848; R. P. Roberts, 1849-50; Patrick McKinney, 1851-52; Charles P. Bullock, 1853-54; Horace B. Lindsey, 1855-59; Benjamin H. Cravens, 1860;
Z. D. German, 1861; William Hulstone, 1864-68; W. D. Hoff, 1869-72; D. M. Wooldridge, 1873-82;
R. W. Hadon, 1883-86; Jerome N. Gunier, 1887 to present time.
Judges of Circuit Court.—Foster P. Wright, 1845-50; Waldo P. Johnson, 1851-53; DeWitt C. Ballou, 1854-58; Foster P. Wright, 1859-62; Burr H. Emerson, 1863-71; David McGaughey, 1871; John D. Parkinson, 1872-80; Charles G. Burton, 1881-86; Daniel P. Stratton, 1887 to present time.
Present Official List.— Representative, W. B. Lewis; judge of circuit court, D. P. Stratton; judge of probate court, J. N. Gunier; judge of county court, C. W. Paynter; associate judges, O. T. Huff, Sol. E. Williams; school commissioner, Ira E. Barber; collector, W. E. Nance; sheriff, J. W. Legg; circuit clerk, R. N. Cox; county clerk, T. J. Travis; prosecuting attorney, O. D. Hubbell; treasurer, Geo. R. Corbin; assessor, W. Elliston; surveyor, J. W. D. Kirkpatrick; administrator, E. W. Montgomery.
Court Houses.— May 20, 1846, William Blake was appointed to superintend the building of a frame court house, on lot 6,
block 4, in Stockton, in accordance with a plan he had previously submitted to the court. He was ordered to advertise the erection of the building to be let to the " lowest bidder" on the first day of the appeal January term of the court to be held on the third Monday in June, 1846. For some reason the work was not proceeded with, and November 19, 1846, it was " ordered by the court that the superintendent of public buildings be and is hereby authorized to superintend the building of a court house in the town of Lancaster (Stockton), on lot 6, block 4, said court house to be built on the plan as reported by said superintendent to this court, and filed herein on the 18th day of November, 1846." It was " further ordered that said superintendent let out the said building according to law to the lowest bidder, after giving notice of said building in the manner required by law," and, " that the sum of $350 be, and the same is hereby appropriated for the building of said house, and to be paid in the following installments: $150 the first day of May, A. D., 1847, and $250 on the first day of May, A. D., 1848." In conclusion, it was stipulated that the court house should be completed by May 1, 1847. February 17, 1847, Cedar County bought of Samuel Moore, lot 6, block 4, of the town plat of Lancaster, the price paid having been $210. The frame court house thus projected was never erected, partially on account of unavoidable difficulties, and partially for the reason that a sentiment was gradually growing in favor of a brick building.
At the May term of the county court, 1852, the court appropriated $5,500 for the purpose of building a court house in Fremont. At a special appeal term, in June, 1852, the report of the superintendent was examined and approved, and the superintendent was ordered to proceed with the letting of the several contracts necessary to the erection of a suitable building. August 16, 1852, Benjamin H. Cravens, superintendent, reported that, in accordance with the order of the court, he had let the contracts to Messrs. Gill, Long & Ragan, whose bid was $5,500. The work was begun and partially completed, and June 19, 1854, H. B. Lindsey, then superintendent of public buildings of Cedar County, relet the contract for finishing the work to M. C. White, at an advance of $470 over the original bid. October 19, 1855,
reported the court house finished, and recommended the payment of the amount
of his contract to Mr. White, by the county court, which accepted the
building. This court house, which was a substantial structure, standing on the
foundation of the present one, was burned in 1863, by
Shelby's men, who raided through that part of the State.
In May, 1867, an order was issued for the erection of a court house on the original site on the public square in Stockton, and $10,000 was appropriated out of the common school fund for such use. Littleberry Davis was appointed superintendent of public buildings, and submitted a plan which was approved by the court. The building (the one since in use) was completed in December following.
Jails. — The first jail in Cedar County was a log structure, which was located not far from the present abandoned stone building. It was two stories high, and the prisoners were admitted to the lower room through a trap-door in the floor of the upper one. This did service until about the time of the war. In February, 1870, R. F. Buller, William Hulstone and James A. Coyle were appointed agents on the part of the county court, to draft plans for a jail and report them to the court on the first Monday in March. February 7, 1871, an order was issued for the erection of a jail on lot 1, block 13, in Stockton, and $5,000 was appropriated for the purpose. James A. Cogle, superintendent, submitted a plan, which the court approved. At the November term of the county court (1871), the jail, completed, was accepted. It was in use until a few years ago, when it was found inadequate and for some time past, prisoners have been taken from Cedar to jails in her sister counties. At the general election, 1888, the voters of Cedar County voted 2,058 ballots to 526 to authorize the county court to incur an indebtedness of $5,000 to erect a new jail. It was decided to issue bonds to that amount. April 9, 1889, Frank H. Babbs was appointed superintendent of the erection of the jail, and May 6 the contract for its erection was awarded to the Pauly Jail Building and Manufacturing Company, of St. Louis. So far as possible, the material of the present stone jail will be used in the building of the new one, which will
be supplied with every appliance of convenience and safety. The contract price is $4,900.
COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY AND POOR FARM.
County Agricultural Society. — An association of this character was in existence some years, and several fairs were held. The record of the incorporation of the Cedar County Agricultural and Mechanical Society is as follows, under date of July 19, 1870:
Now come sundry citizens and present the following petition, to wit: "To the Honorable County Court of Cedar County: The undersigned petitioners would state to your honors that we are freeholders and citizens of the county of Cedar and State of Missouri; that they are desirous of organizing and incorporating themselves for the purpose of promoting improvements in agricultural manufactures and the raising of stock. We would, therefore, respectfully petition that an order of your honorable court be made declaring us incorporated for the purposes specified in section I, chapter 60, General Statutes 1865, of Missouri, and the subsequent amendments thereto, under the name and style of the Cedar County Agricultural and Mechanical Society. (Signed) James T. Farris, James A. Cogle, D. H. Connaway, Abram Sallee, D. P. Tracy, W. D. Hoff, W. C. Montgomery, William Hulstone, J. B. Harris, Daniel Cox, C. H. Mace, John M. Ashworth, James W. Osborn, Thomas Crampton, D. P. Stratton, John Philpott, Lewis Gravely, L. B. Davis, J. J. Montgomery, E. S. Lindsay, S. Chandler, J. R. Owens, James M. Jackson, James Masters, J. N. Gunier, S. L. Kerr, George W. Yenger, J. H. Ackason, William Montgomery, B. F. Pollard, A. C. Montgomery, John Hudson, R. R. Moore, J. E. Walker, William Porter, W. C. Church, F. Dunnegan, W. C. York, Thomas P. York, W. M. Hill, J. A. Pankey, John Noble, J. J. Gravely, A. M. Pyle, James K. Nichols, John Nichols, William F. Orr, John W. Younger, P. G. Rampy, A. B. Muckey, Thomas B. Graham, John A. Hembree, Fleming Owen, R. W. Killingsworth, W. E. Conner." And the court being fully satisfied that there are more than fifty freeholders represented on the petition, a majority of whom reside in the county, and being fully advised in the premises, it is hereby ordered and declared that the petitioners aforesaid be and they are hereby incorporated for the purpose aforesaid, under the name and style of the Cedar County Agricultural and Mechanical Society, and by that name they and their successors shall be known in law, have perpetual succession, sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, defend and be defended in all courts and actions, pleas and matters whatsoever, and shall have power to purchase, hold and receive any quantity of land not exceeding one hundred acres, with such buildings and improvements as may be placed thereon not exceeding in value one hundred thousand dollars, and may convey, lease, sell and dispose of the same, or any part thereof, for the benefit of said society, and may do any and all the acts granted by said chapter 60, General Statutes of Missouri of 1865, and the subsequent amendments thereto.
Poor Farm.— The poor farm of Cedar County consists of about 160 acres near Paynterville, in Madison Township, and is provided with comfortable log and frame buildings. It is adequate to the demands upon it, and has generally been managed
with ability and integrity. The present superintendent is James M. Isham.
THE COUNTY PRESS.
Stockton Papers.—The first newspaper issued in Cedar County was the Southwest Tribune, established about the close of the war by Wells, Caffee & Co., and afterward known as the Stockton Tribune. It changed publishers several times prior to 1876, when it was bought by D. P. Stratton and Lewis Gravely, and merged with the Stockton Journal, which they purchased about the same time. The Tribune was Republican, politically, and for years was the only paper published in the county. The Stockton Journal was established by H. L. Henry in 1869, as a Democratic local paper, and has stanchly adhered to Democratic principles ever since. It was published successively by Buller & Chandler, H. M. Brandon, H. C. Timmonds and Stratton & Co., until 1887, when it was purchased by its present proprietor, Charles R. Church. The Cedar County Republican was first issued December 30, 1886, by W. B. Phipps, its founder and since proprietor. As its name indicates, it is Republican in politics, and at the same time it is a live local paper. In 1879 the Stockton Stalwart, an anti-administration Republican paper, was started by C. M. Wilson, and it was published by him and others with varying success for three or four years. During the campaign of 1880, C. M. Wilson issued a Greenback paper named the Anti-Bulldozer. A paper called the Cedar County Republican which was in no way related, except politically, to the paper of the same name mentioned above, was published a few months, in 1884, by W. M. Goodwin.
El Dorado Papers.—The El Dorado News (Republican) was issued by W. B. Phipps, July 20, 1881. In the fall of 1882, Mr. Phipps leased the paper to N. H. Cruce, who published it nearly a year. Meantime, June 9, 1883, Mr. Phipps established the Weekly Cyclone. In September following he again assumed control of the News and consolidated the two papers under the title of the El Dorado News-Cyclone, and in December he changed its name to Uncle Sam. Since January, 1887, Uncle Sam has been published by R.C. Phipps, brother of
W. B. Phipps, the latter retaining a controlling interest in it. The El Dorado Herald (Independent) was published a few months in 1882, by N. C. Mitchell. The first number of the El Dorado Democrat appeared September 21, 1883, under the proprietorship of N. H. and W. P. Cruce, and was succeeded by the Tribune, now (May, 1889) in the middle of its second volume, and published by A. W. Stearns & Co.
Jerico Papers.—- The Jerico News was established in 1882 by Col. A. M. Crockett, from Nevada. It several times changed hands, and suspended in 1887. It was independent in politics. The Jerico Springs Optic a newsy Democratic sheet, was established in March, 1888, by Theodore L. Kerr.
RAILROAD SURVEYS AND PROSPECTS.
The following lines of railway have been surveyed through Cedar County, and it is thought that some of them will be constructed within a few years. The history of the attempt to bond the county for railroad construction is elsewhere given. All these surveys included Bolivar as a station: Laclede & Fort Scott Railroad; St. Louis & Western Railroad; Sedalia, Warsaw & Southern Railroad; Jefferson City & Southwestern Missouri Railway (a branch of the Missouri Pacific system); Chicago, Girard & Jefferson City Railroad. The Kansas City, Rich Hill & El Dorado Railroad is now being constructed, and, when finished, will furnish Cedar County its first direct railway communication with the outside world.
TOWNS AND VILLAGES.
The site of Stockton was chosen as the seat of justice of Cedar County, at the beginning of the county's history, and, February 11, 1846, it was " ordered by the court that the Commissioner of the permanent seat of justice of Cedar County lay off the town of Lancaster, in said county of Cedar, in strict compliance with the plan this day filed with and approved by said court."
The Public Square — Sales of Lots.— It was further ordered that " the said commissioner lay off said town on the piece or
parcel of land selected by said court, making the stake stuck by said court the center of the public square." The court also directed that the commissioner proceed to sell on the first Monday in April, 1846, on the ground selected for the town of Lancaster, on certain terms stipulated, certain lots mentioned by block and number at prices ranging from $25 to $50 each. May 20, the commissioner reported several sales of lots, and the court ordered that the commissioner proceed to " lay off the residue of the town land into lots in accordance with the plan heretofore submitted," with some described exceptions, modifying the plan, and changing the prices of certain classes of lots. The plan of the town was again slightly changed by an order of the court June 15, 1846, and other orders followed regulating the sale and prices of lots. Not long afterward the name of the town was changed to Fremont. May 16, 1848, David Hunter filed in the county court his written resignation as commissioner of the seat of justice, and the vacancy was filled by the appointment of James Cole. By an order of the county court, November 19, 1850, lots 1 and 2, in Block 47, in Fremont, were donated to the trustees of the Fremont Academy, and their successors, for the use of the public.
Incorporation.— Fremont was incorporated May 19, 1851, and its boundaries were thus described:
" Beginning at Jacob Kline's house, and running so as to include it; thence east to a ppjnt beyond Jacob Sherrill's residence; thence south so as to include the residence of said Jacob Sherrill, and the residence of Charles P. Bullock, bought by him of Doctor James Cole; thence south to a point opposite the southeast corner of the town tract; thence to said corner; thence with the south boundary of said town to the southwest corner of said town tract; thence with the west boundary of said town tract to the northwest corner of said tract; thence in a direct or straight line to the place of beginning." Patrick McKinna, S. M. Grant, William Guinn, Milan B. Coats, and William J. Coulter were appointed trustees.
The town was a second time incorporated, and, under its present name, July 28, 1868, when its boundaries were thus defined: " Beginning at the northeast corner of the southwest fourth of the northwest quarter of Section 9, in Township 34 of Range 26;
thence west three-fourths of a mile, to the northwest corner of the southwest fourth of the northeast quarter of Section 8, in said township and range; thence south three-fourths of a mile to the southwest corner of the southwest fourth of the southeast quarter of Section 8, in said township and range; thence east to the southwest corner of the southeast fourth of the southwest quarter of Section 9, in said township and range; thence north to the place of beginning." The court further ordered that " James Cogle, William Hulstone, Alonzo V. Snell, William C. Montgomery and John Hendricks be, and they are hereby appointed trustees of said town, and that they constitute the board of trustees of said town, and discharge the duties and have all the powers vested in such board of trustees by law, and continue in office until their successors are chosen and qualified at the time and in the manner the law directs." The former incorporation had become inoperative during the war, and this second one proved so unpopular that only a few annual elections were held under its municipal organization, and the latter was permitted to 'die out for sheer want of officers to perform its vital functions.
Merchants, Past and Present.— The first general store in Stockton was that of Tilton & Sanders, who lived at Bolivar, Polk County, and whose interests here were looked after by Richard Huston. They opened in 1846. Nicholas McMinn, prominent in different ways, was among the best know early merchants. At a later date came Sherrill & Hartley, who were succeeded by John E. Hartley, and Frazier, Hawkins & Co., and others who were well-known in the years immediately preceding the war. The first leading merchants after the war were Owen & Jackson, who were succeeded by J. M. Jackson & Co. Stores were soon after and later kept by Morehouse & Davis, Richardson & Co. (druggists), Underwood & Co., C. H. Mace, A. V. Snell & Co. (druggists), and others; and still later by Demaree & Hoffman, and A. H. Jagneau & Co. (druggists). Following are the names of the present dealers in different lines of trade: Jno. F. Rutledge, M. D. Briscoe, Sarah J. Gravely, Wooldridge & Hartley, Frank H. Smith, Kahn & Vendig, Brown & Gilmore, E. N. Ballenger, S. H. Davis, Chas. E. Ferguson, Horn & Corbin,
Haden & Webb, J. M. Jackson & Co., Kerr & Hall, James L. Mitchell, J. R. Owen & Co.
Banks.—The Cedar County Bank was organized in May, 1881, with Jeremiah R. Owen as president, and John A. Harris as cashier. The directors were James Harris, Jeremiah R. Owen, S. L. Smith, M. Bradley, C. W. Paynter, Jefferson Jackson, Harden Cowan. Jefferson Jackson succeeded Jeremiah R. Owen as president, and the latter John A. Harris as cashier. In June, 1888, the management of the concern passed into other hands, and J. W. Osborn has since been president, and W. B. Humphreys, cashier. The directors at this time are J. W. Osborn, John Wasson, J. M. Akard, R. A. Brown, A. M. Horn, S. F. Hurt, R. F. Buller. The capital is $10,000.
The Stockton Exchange Bank was organized June I, 1881, with a capital of $15,000. The officers were J. E. Hartley, president; J. M. Jackson, vice-president; W. B. Loy, cashier. It now has a capital of $15,000, a surplus of $10,000, and $3,500 undivided profits. . The officers are J. E. Hartley, president; F. H. Smith, vice-president; W. M. Hartley, cashier. The directors are W. M. Hartley, W. L. Hartley, F. H. Smith, J. E. Hartley, T. B. Graham.
Lodges.— Cedar Lodge No. 103, Knights, of Pythias, was organized October 21, 1885. The charter members were A. Harvey, T. T. Loy, R. W. Haden, G. L. Walker, J. S. Street, S. G. McAchran, Samuel Vendig, H. Hall, C. E. Ferguson, C. Hall, W. B. Humphrey, J. L. Mitchell, F. H. Babbs, A. Solomon, C. R. Church, J. A. Barrow, T. J. McFarland, R. A. Brown, F. L. McAchran, A. M. Horn, W. C. Hastin, R. C. Griggs. The present membership is sixty-five. The officers are: C. E. Ferguson, C. C.; William Church, V. C.; W. R. Brown, Prel.; M. W. Hartley, M. of Ex.; H. H, Corbin, M. of F.; Virgil L. Walker, K. of R. and S.; Thomas Edge, I. G.; J. P. Enex, O. G.
Sac River Lodge No. 110, I. O. O. F., was re-organized January 6, 1881, by Charles Gardner, D. D. G. M., with D. P. Stratton, Lewis Gravely, J. W. Pruit, J. T. Farris, Samuel L. Kerr and E. A. Henderson as charter members. The officers were: Samuel L. Kerr, N. G.; Lewis Gravely, V. G.; J. W. Pruit,
secretary; J. T. Farris, treasurer. The present membership is forty-five. The officers are W. B. Phipps, N. G.; J. A, Barrow, V. G.; E. A. Henderson, treasurer; R. W. Haden, secretary. This lodge was originally organized about eighteen years ago, and its hall and records were burned in 1880.
Austin Hubbard Post No. 194, G. A. R., is in a flourishing condition. Its official list is as follows: Clark Hutchinson, P. C.; L. D. Stroud, S. V. C.; Gabriel Hickman, J. V. C; H. H. Ditzler, surgeon; J. J. Davidson, chaplain; William Ackason, Q. M.; J. S. Street, O. of the D.; George Dowel, O. of the G.;J. J. Montgomery, adjutant; William Snodgrass, sergeant-major; H. P. Willett, Q. M. S.; A. Younger, G.
Stockton Lodge No. 283, A. F. & A. M., was organized about 1865, with the following charter members: W. B. Perry, G. R. Corbin, H. J. Church, S. W. Horn, Shadrach Chandler, J. E. Hartley. The present officers are: W. A. Ackason, W. M.; C. S. Younger.S.W.; J.W. Corbin, J.W.; G.L. Walker, S.D.; C. E. Ferguson, J. D.; A. M. Horn, treasurer; J. L. Mitchell, secretary.
Golden Ark Chapter No. 70, R. A. C., was organized about 1871. Its charter members were: G. R. Corbin, W. B. Perry, J. A. Cogle, H. J. Church, W. C. Montgomery, J. M. Jackson. It is officered as follows: C. S. Younger, E. H. P.; W. B. Perry, E. K.; J. W. Corbin, C. of H.; W. A. Ackason, P. S.; G. L. Walker, R. A. C.; T. M. Montgomery, G. M. of 3d V.; J. L. Mitchell, G. M. of 2d V.; C. E. Ferguson, G. M. of 1st V.; M. B. Loy, secretary; G. R. Corbin, treasurer.
Geographically Jerico is in the southwest corner of Benton Township, 22 miles northeast of Lamar, 16 miles east of Sheldon, 30 miles southeast of Nevada, and 16 miles southwest of Stockton, the county seat, being thus admirably located to derive the full benefit of trade from choice sections of Vernon, Dade, Barton and Cedar counties.
How the Springs Became Noted.— The history of these famous springs is by no means a small part of tradition. Long years ago the Indians visited Jerico, and in their untutored way, endeavored
to utilize the water's curative properties by burying themselves in the mud, which they would also make into poultices and apply to the affected parts. Joseph B. Carrico, who is the oldest settler in this section, relates many instances of the cures effected by this primitive method of treatment, the healing virtues of the springs having made such an impression upon the red men, that what is now Jerico became their Mecca. In time, accounts of the wonderful springs made their way east, and in 1857, Dr. Bass, of St. Louis, visited the spot, and began a series of experiments which, in 1860, resulted in a determination on his part to establish a hospital there. The Civil War broke out, however, and the Doctor, having entered the service, became rich, and consequently abandoned a scheme which would have resulted in so much benefit to humanity.
Town Site —— Additions — Incorporation,— Mr. D. G. Stratton immigrated to Cedar County from Illinois a few years ago. Shortly after arriving his attention was called to the springs, and their waters suggested as a remedy for a chronic affection from which he suffered. Skeptical at first, he finally tried them, and was delighted when a complete cure was effected. Having satisfied himself, by watching the experience of other invalids, that the springs unquestionably possessed great medicinal properties, Mr. Stratton bought the tract of ground containing them, and laid out a town site. On the 9th day of June, 1882, the first nail was driven in Jerico. Lots sold rapidly. In 1885 the town site was extended by the laying out of Stratton & Bradley's east addition. In 1883 and 1884 Stratton's west addition, Stratton's south addition and Stratton's fourth addition were laid out.
Jerico Springs was incorporated as a village March 5, 1883. Its boundaries were thus defined: " Beginning at the southeast corner of the northwest quarter of the northeast quarter of Section 9, Township 33, Range 28; thence running north one-half mile to the northeast corner of the southwest quarter of southeast quarter of Section 4; thence running west one-half mile to the northwest corner of the southeast quarter of the southwest quarter of said Section 4; thence south one-half mile to the southwest corner of the northeast quarter of the northwest quarter of said Section 9; thence east one-half mile to the beginning.
J. B. Carrico, J. P. Brasher, M. W. Mitchell, George Wallace and A. C. Utterback were appointed the first board of trustees. The present town board consists of R. D. Shumate, R. F. Cross, M. B. Reynolds, J. M. Grisham and Josiah Six.
Early and Present Merchants.—The first general store here was opened by James A. Cogle, who was succeeded by James A. Cogle & Co., and that firm, in turn, by James A. Cogle & Sons. Another early store was opened by Hood Shumate; still others by James Rogers & Co., Legg & Heiter and Clayton & Co. Stratton & Lakey early opened a drug store. The following named merchants were doing business in Jerico Springs in the early part of 1889: Robert Cooper, J. R. Duncan, Pickett & Herman, J. H. Shumate & Co., Stratton & Lakey, R. H. Swaim & Co., Shumate & Patterson, Wimer Bros. &. Co., J. B. Carrico, J. H. Clayton, J. A. Cogle & Sons, Peer & Brown.
Items of History.— The name Jerico is the result of a combination of the name of ancient Jericho with the name of Joseph B. Carrico, a former owner of the tract of land on which the town is built. In the beginning, to induce settlement .here, Mr. Stratton donated many lots to persons who would build ,on them. The first building on the site of the new town was the R. B. Clark residence, which was moved from its former location on the farm of C. E. Whitsitt, west of the town. The second was the Jerico House, since converted into the A. Starkey, residence. These two buildings served as hotels until others were, erected. Mr. Peer put up the United States Hotel in 1882. The Neumann House was built in 1883. The first bath buildings were constructed in 1883, by D. G. Stratton and M. J. Straight. The flouring mill of Hartsock & Son was built in 1882. It has since passed to other owners. Williams & Legg established a fruit evaporator in 1886.
"The Fountain of Youth " is the name given to the springs at Jerico by Mr. Stratton.
The Hartley Banking Company was organized by J. E. Hartley in March, 1884. It has a paid-up capital of $11,000. Its first officers were: A. M. Pyle, president; J. P. Brasher, vice-president; John D. Porter, cashier; and the directors, A. M, Pyle, M. B. Loy, J. P. Brasher, J. F. Baston, James Potter. Its
present officers are: A. M. Pyle, president; J. B. Carrico, vice-president; B. L. Brasher, cashier. The directors are: A. M. Pyle, J. B. Carrico, J. P. Brasher, William Hill, Thomas Brasher.
Fraternities.—Bear Lodge No. 447, I. O. O. F., was organized February 6, 1884, by Samuel L. Kerr. Its charter members were: J. H. Shumate, R. D. Shumate, J. B. Brasher, E. G. Ashford, J. H. Adalmeyer, J. M. Thompson, Josiah Six, Vann Jameson. The officers were: J. H. Shumate, N. G.; J. M. Thompson, V. G.; E. G. Ashford, secretary; J. H. Adalmeyer, treasurer. The present noble grand is Josiah Six; the present secretary, J. H. Shumate. The lodge has its own brick hall.
Jerico Lodge No. 340, A. F. & A. M., was organized "under dispensation on May 1, 1884, with the following charter members: G. W. Musgrave, W. B. Carrico, J. H. Shumate, W. R. Hall, W. L. Ragan, William Hull, C. W. Brownlee. W. T. Shaw, T. G. Walker, W. F. Mitchell, C C. Cantrell, J. H. Arnold, M. W. Mitchell, John Baker, Joseph Sharp, J. E. Hardman, S. P. Collins, B. C. Bull. The organization was effected May 10, 1884, by James M. Travis, D. D. G. M. The successive worshipful masters have been: G. W. , 1884; W. R. Hall, 1885; W. B. Carrico, 1886; J. P. Brasher, 1887; John Armstrong, 1888; J. P. Brasher, 1889. James A. Cogle is secretary. The lodge owns a fine brick hall.
Captain J. H. Painter Post No. 90, G. A. R., was mustered in June, 1883, by Captain Emery, and the following officers were elected : J. H. Adalmeyer, P. C. ; John F. Brown, S. V. C; J. R. Deardorff, J.V.C.; John O. Welch, O. D.; O. R. Beard, O. G.; H. B. Willman, Q. M.; James A. Cogle, Adjt.; J. McLeod, S. M.; J. L. Schofield, Q. M. S. The charter members were: J. H. Adalmeyer, J. R. Haines, Joseph Potts, G. M. Clark, James A. Cogle, G. W. Powell, H. B. Willman, Alfred S. Carender, O. R. Beard, F. Ward, I. Bayles, J. R. Deardorff, J. F. Brown, Robert Reynolds, Fred Solomon, John O. Welch, J. McLeod, J. F. Thornton, J. L. Schofield. The officers for 1879 were: James A. Cogle, P. C. ; John F. Brown, S. V. C. ; E. Birksy, J. V. C. ; J. C. Grant, P. S.; O. R. Beard, O. D. ; Levi Ellis, O. G.; John W. Dodds, Q. M.; W. O. Wood, Q. M. S.; J. R. Haines, Adjt.
Gen. A. J. Smith Camp. No. 54, Sons of Veterans, Division of Missouri, was mustered July 25, 1887, with the following members: A. M. Brown, Bennett Solomon, R. O. Crawford, .W. A. Grant, Charles Watson, E. F. Thornton, J. M. Boyel, O. H. Bayles, J. A. Crawford, William E, Grant.
EL DORADO SPRINGS.
The city of El Dorado Springs is situated in the northwest part of the county. It is a growing town, with a large permanent population, which, during the spring, summer and fall, is nearly doubled by health and pleasure seekers who come from every State and Territory in the Union. The town is located on a picturesque variation of wooded hills, and contains many pleasantly planted and sightly residences. It has become the center of a considerable trade, but it is the mineral springs here located that form the center of attraction, and have caused a large town to be developed within a comparatively few years.
The Springs.—For half a century the white man quenched his thirst at these springs without knowing their real value. In 1881 Wiliiam Martin, Andrew Womack, Judge Hightower, and others, who had tried the water of Eureka Springs without benefit, found themselves improving in health through the use of the waters at El Dorado. So remarkable were the cures which had been thus effected that now it seemed evident that El Dorado Springs would in time become a famous health resort if any attempt should be made to make it one.
The Town Platted.— July 20, 1881, N. H. and W. P. Cruce, who owned the land on which the spring is located, surveyed the original plat of El Dorado Springs, containing twenty acres. The lots were quickly disposed of at prices ranging from $10 to $600, and a number of additions were laid out by D. J. Thompson, C. Hall, John Jackson and the Cruces and others, until the city now comprises an extensive area.
Incorporation.— December 5, 1881, it was ordered by the county court that the city of El Dorado Springs be incorporated as a city of the fourth class under the name and style of the City of El Dorado Springs, and that said incorporation be bounded as follows: "Beginning at the northwest corner of the southeast
quarter of the northeast quarter of Section 21, Township 36, Range 28; thence south 120 rods; thence east 80 rods; thence north 120 rods; thence west 80 rods to the place of beginning." It was further ordered that the following-named persons be appointed to the below-mentioned municipal offices: J. B. Hardman, mayor; J. S. Zumbrunn, marshal; James T. Moore, Robert Haden, aldermen from the First Ward; Thomas A. Dale, John Barber, aldermen of the Second Ward. The present municipal officers are G. H. Simpson, mayor; W. P. Cruce, Payton Park, aldermen of the First Ward; J. T. Ford, William Griffith, aldermen of the Second Ward; J. W. Roby, city clerk; J. W. Cullar, treasurer; William Griffith, president of board; David Rogers, marshal.
Historical.— The first building was erected just north of the park, by Wesley Gentry, of Carrollton, Mo., who conducted a hotel therein. The first dry goods and general store was opened by Wheeler & Nelson, and others were opened soon after by Schmidt Brothers, Shaw Brothers, A. A. Lusk, J. W. Cullar, and T. A. Garree. The pioneer physician was Dr.. J. B. Phipps. Babler & Williams opened the first hardware store in 1881, and was succeeded in its ownership by H. J. Babler. The City Flouring Mill, now owned by a stock company, was built by Jacob Phleger. The El Dorado House was opened in 1881 by T. A. Dale, and the City Hotel about the same time, by J. S. Jennings. The Palace Hotel was opened in the spring of 1882, by R. N. Cox, now clerk of the Cedar Circuit Court. The Grand Central, Southern, Forest Grove and other hotels and large boarding houses followed. About all varieties of business are represented here, and the town presents a fine opening for capital. As a town of homes, it is remarkably attractive. As a rule, residence lots are larger than in most towns and cities in this country, the citizens vying with each other as to which shall have the most attractive home, a commendable thing, since it makes this not only one of the prettiest, but one of the cleanest cities in the State.
Population and Business.— El Dorado Springs now has a population of 3,OOO to 4,OOO. There are eight dry goods stores, four drug stores, two hardware, two furniture, two feed and two
second-hand stores, one bank, one flouring mill, one feed-mill, four livery stables, three meat .markets, one harness shop, one bookstore, two jewelers, two photographers, one tailor shop, two milliners, two dairies, four blacksmith, wagon and repair shops, several carpenter shops, five real estate and insurance offices, and a full representation of all trades and professions. The following merchants and mercantile firms of different kinds were trading here in the spring of 1889:
Smith & Simpson, Shaw Bros., J. B. Warren, Son & Co., James T. Wood, Geo. Wagner, C. C. Davidson & Co., A. C. Davidson, Hackler & Son, E. & S. D. Alexander, H. J. Babler, J. F. Boyd & Co., Sue Baird, Bechtel & Cook, J. L. Cullar, Jno. Davis, Fristoe & Atchison, Hibler & Son, Harrison & McLain, Hainline & Pound, J. C. Hardman, J. R. Jones, J. S. McSherry, M. O. Patrick, L. B. Prouty, A. J. Fetter, James W. Roby, S, A. Ringer, Robinson & Stephens, Smith, Warren & Co., M. A. Stephenson, J. Schmidt & Bro., Shaw & Allee.
The Cruce Banking Company is a fixture, and its public spirit and generosity have largely contributed to the making of El Dorado. All the citizens of the community have full confidence in, this banking institution. The bank was organized four years ago with a capital stock of $12,000, and now has a surplus of $12,000, besides a handsome banking house. At its organization, this was a private bank, but was incorporated in January, 1885. Its officers are: D. R. D. Dobyns, president; N. H. Cruce, cashier; W. P. Cruce, assistant cashier; and they, with I. S. Cruce and Richard Cruce, constitute the board of directors.
General Interests.— The advance in new improvements is remarkable. The general appearance of the place is that of a thrifty, prosperous and progressive town with a great future before it. Real estate commands good prices. Business is livelier than in almost any other town of its size in the State. There has been established here a good produce market, of which the farmers for many miles around take advantage. El Dorado has a set of unusually wide-awake business men, and all kinds of business is very successful. There have been but few failures. The Kansas City, Nevada & El Dorado Railroad Company has graded about seven miles of its road from El Dorado Springs to
Nevada, which it expects to complete soon. This road will probably be extended south from El Dorado to Connect with some other point.
From a business point of view, a leading factor is the El Dorado Roller Mills, which were built originally in 1882 before the town was a year old. In time, the old mill became too small. The old miller retired from the field, and other hands took hold. The mill was rebuilt in 1888. the building is of stone; 33x50 feet, three stories high, and has a large daily capacity for turning out its product. The machinery is new, and of the best. The mill is operated by the El Dorado Milling Co., of which C. K. Reifsnider, and energetic man of St. Louis, is president; Mrs. C. K. Reifsnider, his wife, vice-president, and M. L. Ward, of El Dorado Springs, secretary and treasurer.
Societies.—Col. Lennard Post No. 251, G. A. R., was organized in 1885, and has about 100 members. Its officers are: B. C. McDuffee, Com.; Joseph Hess, Sr. V. C.; M. W. Parker, Jr. V. C.; P. B. Smith, surgeon; George W. Sansom, chaplain; Henry Mount, Q. M.; W. R. Scott, adjutant; H. J. Dutton, Q. M. S.; D. S. Peters, sergeant-major; J. T. Richardson, O. of D.; William Mitchell, O. of G.
Clintonville Lodge No. 482, A. F. & A. M., was organized originally at Clintonville about 1872. It was re-organized at El Dorado, May 13, 1886. The following are its officers: G. J. Sherman, W. M.; A. J. Adcock, Sr. W.; S. S. Plunkett, secretary; J. Ingram, J. D.; D. Rogers, J. W.; J. B. Warren, Treas.
El Dorado Lodge No. 433, I. O. O. F., was organized January, 1883, and is thus officered: R. H. Warren, N. G. ; J. H. Jackson, V. G; E. Poland, secretary; E. S. Robinson, treasurer; K. B. Phipps, W.; R. C. Phillips, Con.; William Thompson, I. G.; Granville Thompson, O. G.
The Ancient Order of United Workmen has a flourishing lodge in El Dorado, of which the official list is as follows: J. M. Ramsey, M. W.; J. B. Smith; F. Fowble, O.; M. A. Patrick, I. W.; W. Gentry, O. W.; H. J. Babler, R.; W. A. Ewen, F.; C. A. Edgar, Rec.
WEST EL DORADO.
A point of great interest is the Nine Wonders, a cluster of springs about a mile southwest of El Dorado Springs. A few years ago these springs were in quite a secluded spot, which to-day is known as West El Dorado. A syndicate of capitalists took it upon themselves to build a city that would rival El Dorado Springs. They bought up about seven hundred acres of land surrounding what was then known as the Nine Wonders, and laid out a town site, which has not yet been incorporated. They have spared no money or pains to make it an attractive place, building an elegant amphitheater at an expense of $6,000, and fenced and laid out a beautiful park, with gravel walks and flower beds. They have also built a large two-story double-front brick and galvanized iron storehouse with plate-glass front, and three or four frame houses. This place is a beautiful suburb to El Dorado, and, with the coming of the railroad, which is to have its terminus here, bids fair to soon grow to considerable prominence.
Clintonville is in the northern part of Box Township, in the northwestern part of the county, eighteen miles northwest from Stockton. It was laid out in 1857. Among its promoters were Green B. Adcock and Waldo P. Johnson. It has a population of about seventy-five. The local merchant and postmaster is G. W. Adcock, while another merchant well known is J. B. Warren.
CAPLINGER’S MILLS (SACVILLE).
This village, located on the Sac River, in the northwest part of Washington Township, seven miles north of Stockton, was laid out in 1870, by Shadrach Chandler. It is the seat of one of the early mills of this section, and has always been one of the best-known places in the county. It contains a flouring mill, owned by the Sacville Flouring Mill Company, a wagon shop, and two stores, the proprietors of which are Elliston & Oakes and Kennedy & Jackson.
Lebeck, in the northeast part of Cedar Township, sixteen miles northwest of Stockton, was laid out in 1870 by August
Schmidt, and was formerly known as Clair Springs. Its population is about 100, and it contains a grist-mill, a harness shop and the stores of F. M. Hurt, H. J. Mandeville and B. R. Smith.
This village is located on the western line of Cedar County, in the southwest corner of Box Township, and extends partially into Vernon County. It is seventeen miles from Stockton, northwest. It was laid out in 1869 by James Henderson and Bartlett R. Conyers. Its population is about 300. It contains a hotel, a wagon-maker’s shop and a general store, kept by John Wielms. This village was incorporated in 1870, with A. Carroll, A. N. Wallace, J. H. Callender, J. R. Outman and Andrew Arnett as trustees.
Fincastle is a small place in the northwest part of Jefferson Township, seven miles northeast of Stockton, which was laid out in 1882 by Thomas T. Loy and M. Jacobs. Considerable lumbering has been done here. There are three stores, kept by J. R. Daugherty, W. T. Kennedy and Moser & Detheridge.
PAYNTERVILLE (BEAR CREEK).
This is a village of about 75 population, in the northeast part of Madison Township, on Bear Creek, which has given its name to the post office, the oldest in Cedar County. Its other and more popular name was given it in honor of the Paynter family, long prominent there. It is distant about eight miles from Stockton, and contains a hotel kept by Judge C. W. Paynter, a blacksmith shop, a wagon-maker’s shop, and the stores of Paynter & Jackson, A. Rickman and George E. McDowell & Co.
BALM (CEDAR SPRINGS).
Balm, in the northwest part of Cedar Township, is a flourishing village, growing in wealth and population. Its merchants are G. E. Dunham, Mollie Fraley, S. L. Hardy, J. W. Lesley, M. V. Messick and Steward Sample, and it has a convenient number of small manufactures and mechanics’ shops. It was laid out in 1884, by Thomas Eslinger.
White Hair is a small hamlet in the northwest part of Linn Township. It is one of Cedar County’s oldest settlements. Centerville, in the southwest part of Box Township, was laid out by Joshua Howell, 1857. Meadow is a hamlet in the western part of Washington Township. C. E. Buster is the local merchant. Cane Hill, in the south part of Madison Township, nine miles southeast of Stockton, has a population of about 100. It contains a flour-mill, blacksmith and wagon-maker’s shops, and three stores kept by William Cavenee, W. A. Dale and P. A. Stockton. Filley is a post-town in the southern part of Box Township, ten miles northwest of Stockton. It has three stores, of which R. V. Duncan, J. S. Leonard and George W. Oakes are proprietors. Pleasant View, a post office on Cedar Creek, in Cedar Township, ten miles northwest of Stockton, as a population of about 50. The post office is in the store of Joseph and E. W. Hess.
On account of its location in the border-land between the North and the South, Cedar County, in common with other parts of Southwest Missouri, was the scene of considerable local political disagreement, as well as of some exciting episodes of the war. The spirit of violence which marked the time and the country was rife here, and lawless deeds of irregularly organized bands of both Northern and Southern sympathizers were by no means infrequent, and men were killed at and near the seat of justice, and in other parts of the county, whose slayers were never brought to trial, and men were hanged to convenient trees without the preliminary services of judge and jury. The number who enlisted regularly as soldiers in the two armies was nearly equal, and it cannot be said that either Unionists of Confederates from Cedar County were braver or more devoted to the cause they espoused than their neighbor-foemen; and, though they were foeman, they did not then or later forget that they were neighbors, and that in the woods and on the prairies of the
same county stood the dwellings that sheltered the loved ones they had left behind.
The Livingston and Shelby Raids.—For a considerable period during the war, Stockton, the only town of importance in the county, was guarded. The court house was barricaded and supplied with arms, and regarded as the place of safety in case of attack. It was in the possession of Union troops much of the time, and the town was picketed and in other ways guarded against a descent by the enemy. Small bodies of armed riders were often seen, and house-burnings and other lawless deeds were of frequent occurrence. The two most noteworthy events of the war, locally, were the raids mentioned above. The first occurred July 11, 1863, when nearly every man in town (most of whom were soldiers, or at least armed), who was not on guard at some point of approach, was in the court house, listening to a joint debate between Orville P. Welch and William C. Montgomery, rival candidates for the assembly. One of these aspirants for political preferment was speaking when word came that the raiders were descending upon the town. It was very foggy, and their approach had not been noticed by the pickets until it was too late either to give warning or offer resistance, and almost as soon as the first alarming cry was heard in the court house the enemy was seen dashing into the center of the town by different streets. A brief engagement ensued, the raiders firing on the soldiers and others to be seen about the court house, and the soldiers returning the fire through the court house windows and other loopholes, in which Col. Livingston, who commanded the attacking party, was killed and Capt. Vaughn, the next in command, mortally wounded, the latter dying in a few minutes. A Unionist named Holman was killed in the affray, and another, George Kingston, was taken prisoner by the raiders as they rode out of town, and shot soon afterward. The attacking party numbered some 300 or 400 men. In the fall of the same year, Shelby’s force, of some 3,000 or more, descended upon the town, and, without bloodshed, burned the court house. Stockton was much damaged, and the Crow and Caplinger mills, with most of the farm houses in the western part of the county, were destroyed.
Removal of the County Records—At the outbreak of the war most of the Cedar County officials were Southern sympathizers, and the records were taken South, it is said, by some of them, and hidden in Arkansas. Near the close of the war some Union soldiers discovered the books in a cave in Arkansas, and brought them to Springfield, whence later they were returned to their legal custodians.
Federal Soldiers.—Two companies were recruited in Cedar County entire for the Union service, and a large number of men from the county attached themselves to other that Cedar County organizations. The two companies mentioned served seven months in the Seventh Provisional Regiment Enrolled Missouri Militia. November 3, 1863, they were mustered into the Fifteenth Missouri Volunteer Cavalry, as Companies A and M. Of the former, P. H. Rohrer was captain; A. C. Montgomery, first lieutenant; and Samuel Hornbeck, second lieutenant. Of the latter, Dennis H. Connaway was captain; W. A. McMinn, first lieutenant; and Jesse Spencer, second lieutenant. The Fifteenth Missouri Cavalry saw service in the campaigns against Marmaduke, Shelby and Price, and in scouting in the Southwest. It was mustered out of service at Springfield, June 30, 1865. Cedar County’s most distinguished Union soldier was Col. Joseph J. Gravely, of the Eighth Missouri State Militia, and there were others who distinguished themselves in regiments organized in other localities. Battery H, Twentieth Missouri Light Artillery, was commanded by Capt. William C. Montgomery. Attached to this organization were Lieuts. T. M. Montgomery, F. J. Travis, and other Cedar Countians.
Confederate Soldiers.—The “Stockton Grays” were organized, with about ninety men, with B. F. Walker as captain, and Russell Lilburn as first lieutenant, in 1861. Capt. J. W. Prowell and Capt. J. A. Musgrove also organized companies in the county, of eighty and seventy-five men, respectively. These companies were recruited under Gov. Jackson’s call, and attached to the Missouri State Guard; but later most of the members of these companies connected themselves with the Confederate States army, and served until the close of the war. At Cowskin, where the first general organization was effected, Capt. Walker
was made lieutenant-colonel of his regiment, under Col. James Cawthon. Subsequently, at Oak Hill, Col. Cawthon was killed, and Lieut.-Col. Walker was promoted to the colonelcy. Lieut. Lilburn succeeded to the command of Capt. Walker’s company. Besides the engagement at Oak Hill, where forty of Walker’s company were killed, the regiment was in the fighting at Lone Jack, Prairie Grove, Lexington and other places. Many men from Cedar County were in a company recruited by Capt. (afterward Maj.) Reynolds, then of St. Clair County, now of Jerico.
First and Early Schools.—Andrew Steel Stewart taught the first school in Cedar County, in 1841, in what is now the Powell District, in a log house which had been erected that year, and which has been described thus: Eighteen feet square, benches of split boards, no windows, rock fireplace at one end, an entrance, but no door; floor covering one-half of floor space only; no chimney. It was what was termed a subscription school, and lasted three months. There were eighteen scholars, and the price each was one dollar. Only one of the pupils, Thomas B. Graham, is now living. Probably the next school was taught by C. Lindsey, another well-remembered pioneer pedagogue. All of the early schools were similar in character to the one described above. Under the school laws of the State the public school system has developed to its present excellent status.
Sale of School Lands.—The first official act of Cedar County Court relative to school interests, is thur recorded: “It is ordered by the court that the sheriff of the county of Cedar proceed to sell Section 16, in Township 36, Range 27, on the second day of the fall term of the Cedar County Court, which will be holden at the court house on the first Monday after the fourth Monday in September, said sale to be conducted in all respects according to law, said sheriff giving at least sixty days’ notice thereof; it appearing to the satisfaction of this court, by a petition this day filed herein by a majority of the citizens of Cedar Township,
praying for the sale of said 16th Section.” This was the first order for the sale of school lands. At the November term, 1847, it was “ordered that the sheriff of Cedar County proceed to sell Section 16 of school township 4, Range 28, Township 26, at the court house door, in the town of Fremont, at the next regular term of the Cedar Circuit Court, after giving sixty days’ notice.” Other similar orders followed, and May 16, 1848, the sheriff reported that, at a duly authorized and advertised public sale, he had sold school lands, as follows: The south west one-fourth of the northeast one-fourth Section 16, Township 35, Range 26, to Samuel Caplinger; the southwest one-fourth of the northwest one-fourth of Section 16, Township 35, Range 26, to R. O. Maracle; the northwest one-fourth of the northwest one-fourth of Section 16, Township 35, Range 26, to John I. Hindsley; the northwest one-fourth of the northeast one-fourth of Section 16, Township 35, Range 26, to James Cawthon; and the southwest one-fourth of the northeast one-fourth of Section 16, Township 35, Range 26, and the southwest one-fourth of the northwest one-fourth of Section 16, Township 36, Range 28, to James Mayfield. This is the first recorded sale of school lands.
Township Organization for School Purposes.—Following is a copy of the record of the first order to organize a township in Cedar County for school purposes:
At a county court begun and held for said county, on the 16th day of February, 1847, among others were the following proceedings, to wit: It is ordered that school township No. 35, in Range No. 26, in the county aforesaid, be organized for school purposes, agreeably to the provisions of an act of the General Assembly of the State, entitled an act to provide for the organization, support and government of common schools, approved February 9th, A.D. 1839, a majority of the qualified voters in said township having petitioned for said organization; and it is further ordered that the first meeting of the inhabitants thereof be held at Caplinger’s mill on the first Saturday in March A. D. 1847, at ten o’clock in the forenoon. In testimony whereof, I, Joseph Allen, clerk of said court, have hereunto set my hand and private seal, there being no official seal provided, this 16the day of February, 1847. (Signed) Joseph Allen, Clerk.
in October. James M. Allen was appointed commissioner, and he and John Carter inspectors. At the same time, School Township No. 3 (Township 33, Range 27) and School Township No. 4 (Township 3, Range 25) were ordered organized on the same day, the meeting, in the first, to be at the house of Jeremiah Lacy, and in the second at the house of Alanson Packard. David Hunter was appointed commissioner, and Gideon Hamier and George W. Wiley inspectors of No. 3; and M. Box, commissioner; and John Fergus and Alanson Packard, inspectors of No. 4. At the February and May terms, 1848, the following townships were ordered organized: No. 35, Range 27, first meeting second Monday in April, at the house of John B. Gordon; No. 33, Range 25, first meeting June 10, at the house of Richard Tatum. Robert A. Ray was appointed inspector of No. 35; Isaac Routh and Morris Mitchell of No. 33; Thomas Smith, commissioner of No. 33. May 19, 1848, it was ordered “that School Township No. 34 be organized for school purposes,” with Nicholas McMinn as commissioner, and James M. Frazier and James M. Blake as inspectors. August 21, Township 34, Range 25, was ordered organized, the first meeting to be at the house of Robert Simmons on the fourth Saturday in September. The officers appointed were: John B. Ingram, commissioner, and William H. Curle and L. B. Tulley, inspectors. November 20, Township 35, Range 25, was ordered organized. Jacob Dixon was appointed commissioner, and Harry Ecleston and William F. Rogers, inspectors; the first meeting to be held at the house of Jacob Dixon on the last Saturday in December. Township 34, Range 26, was also ordered organized, the first meeting to be held at the court house on the same day, and Washington Crabtree was appointed commissioner, and Richard G. Roberts and William Guinn, inspectors.
The Schools of To-day.—Such, in brief, is the interesting history of the early efforts to establish public schools in the county. Fostered by the State school laws, and aided by the efforts of officials and citizens, the school interest has been advanced until there are now eighty school districts in the county. As a rule the houses are large and conveniently located, so that no child is deprived of school privileges. The school population is
6, 000, the average length of terms seven months, and schools are ably and efficiently conducted. The citizens have a commendable pride in school matters, bully realizing the importance of education the young. The rate of taxation, State and county, is $2 per capita of school age, which is ample for all purposes. Teachers’ institutes have been introduced successfully. The total enrollment of scholars in the county is as follows: White, 5,328; colored, 65; total, 5,393. The number of teachers employed is 112, of whom 28 are males.
Early Preachers.—The Baptists seem to have been first in the county. The first preacher was Rev. James J. Johnson, from Kentucky, who organized the Cedar church, in Washington Township. He began his labors about 1837. Other Baptist preachers, were Revs. Obadiah Smith, J. Lunsford, Daniel Murphy and Daniel Satterfield. The early meetings were held in private dwellings and school-houses, and at this time there are few church buildings in the county remote from the larger towns.
Churches at Stockton,--At Stockton are organizations of the Cumberland Presbyterians, Baptists, Christians and Methodists (North and South). Some of them were formed prior to the war, and most of them have always been weak, both numerically and financially. The Christian church is now the strongest in both respects. A small frame church was built about 1871, by this sect, but, on account of monetary difficulties, was sold under a deed of trust. The purchaser deeded it to a board of trustees representing a goodly number of citizens of varying and of no church affiliations, who bought it of him by a subscription, in 1879. The deed bears date May 4, that year, and conveys the property to Carter Pritchard, William Hulstone, George R. Corbin and J. M. Jackson and their successors, as trustees. Efforts now being made will doubtless result in the erection, at an early day, of a house of worship of the Christian Church in the southern part of the town. A member of the Presbyterian Church (Old School) died some years ago, who left a farm on the
Sac River to be disposed of to build in Stockton a house of worship which should form the nucleus of an organization of that denomination, and it is believed, not many years will elapse before steps will be taken to utilize this benefaction.
Churches at Jerico Springs.—The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, of Jerico, was organized by Rev. Mr. Trone, in 1884, and, since Mr. Trone went to another appointment, has had the following pastors: Revs. R. G. Flummer, R. W. Reynolds, G. W. Mitchell and J. T. Loyal. The Missionary Baptist Church was organized in 1884 by Elder Horn. Its pastors, since Mr. Horn, have been Revs. C. Ingram, Meacham, S. P. Collins, J. H. Moore and Charles Logan. The Christian Church was organized by Elder Turner in 1885. Next in turn, as pastors, came Elders Elliott and Randall. The present pastor is Elder J. B. Carrico. A small frame church house was built by public subscription in 1885, and deeded to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, but, under a satisfactory arrangement, is used by the different denominations.
Churches at El Dorado Springs.—The first church organized at El Dorado was the Free Will Baptist, in 1882. Its house of worship was built in the same year. Its pastor is Rev. D. W. Pasham. The Christian Church was organized in 1883, and its house of worship was built in 1886. Rev. H. W. Robertson is pastor. The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized in 1884, and its church house built in 1886. The pastor is Rev. A. L. Walker. The Methodist Episcopal Church, organized in 1884, erected a building in 1886. Rev. R. G. Flummer is pastor. The Missionary Baptist Church was organized in 1884, and its house of worship was built in 1888. The present pastor is Rev. T. G. Hendricks. The Presbyterian Church, of which there is no resident pastor at this time, was organized in 1886, and its house was built in 1888. All of these several church houses are substantial, and some of them are elegant and attractive. All are frame.
Churches Elsewhere in the County.—The Lindley Prairie Methodist Episcopal Church Society, in Jefferson Township, is an old congregation. Its house of worship was built in 1888. The Mount Gilead Baptist Church, in the same township, was
organized some years ago, and has a comfortable church house. The Green Springs Christian Church is a flourishing organization, having a substantial church building which was erected about four years ago. The Wrenn, Edge, Pankey, Church and other families of that part of Linn Township are prominent members. The Antioch Baptist Church, of Cedar Township, has a building which was put up in 1882. The Cedar Baptist Church is an old organization, and also has its house of worship, built some years since. The Red Hill Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in Jefferson Township, was organized in 1881, and its services are held in the Red Hill school-house. There are other congregations in different parts of the county which worship in school-houses, and in some places measures are being taken toward the building of suitable church houses.
The Goodspeed Biographies Begin on Page 431 They are online here
A big Thank You to Genia (Helm) Rhea <GDHKCMO903 at aol.com> and Eileen Cummings <ecummins at hit.net> for their valuable help typing all this information.
Back to Main Page Webmaster
Submissions to these pages remain the copyrighted property of the submitter.
Commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior
permission. If copied for personal genealogical use, this copyright notice MUST
appear with the information. Otherwise, contact the submitter.
THE INFORMATION ON THIS IS NOT FOR INCLUSION IN THE USGENWEB ARCHIVES UNLESS WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THE SUBMITTER IS OBTAINED AND PROVEN. All Rights under copyright reserved. 23 Dec 2005